For those who do not understand the Canadian system of surveys, it may be explained that a municipality is made up of a number of townships, each of the lines of which run invariably north and south and east and west, 6 miles each way, making 36 square miles. Each square mile is called a section and contains 640 acres, which again is divided into quarters of 160 acres, and described as NE¼, the SE¼. NW¼ and SW¼. The sections are numbered as shown on the diagram. These townships are in tiers numbered one, two, three, etc., northward from the United States boundary line while the ranges east and west are those townships lying east or west of a fixed line running north and south through the Province of Manitoba, called the First Meridian. There is a Government road allowance around each section, so that every quarter section faces upon a road.

## DIAGRAM OF TOWNSHIP.

