# REPORT OF THE CANADIAN DELEGATES

## TENTH ASSEMBLY OF THE LEAGUE OF NATIONS

TO HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR GENERAL IN COUNCIL:

The Tenth Ordinary Session of the Assembly of the League of Nations was held in Geneva from September 2 to September 25, 1929.

#### ORGANIZATION

Delegates from fifty-three States were present, an increase of three over last year, the three additional States being Peru, Bolivia and Honduras; Brazil

and Argentina were not represented.

For the Tenth Assembly, which was felt to be a landmark in the history of the League, most countries sent very strong delegations. There were present seven Prime Ministers or Heads of States actually in office, nine former Prime Ministers or Heads of States, twenty-three Ministers of Foreign Affairs, thirteen former Ministers of Foreign Affairs, and twenty-three delegates with a rank corresponding to that of Cabinet Minister.

Canada's delegation was headed by the Hon. Raoul Dandurand, Leader of the Government in the Senate, supported by the Hon. J. C. Elliott, Minister of Public Works, and the Hon. W. D. Euler, Minister of National Revenue, with the following as alternate delegates: the Right Hon. Sir George Foster, the Hon. Philippe Roy, Minister for Canada in France, Miss Agnes C. Macphail M.P., Malcolm McLean, M.P., and W. A. Riddell, Dominion of Canada Advisory Officer accredited to the League of Nations.

The election of the President of the Assembly, the six vice-presidents, and the chairman of the six committees, who together constitute the General Com-

mittee of the Assembly, resulted as follows:—

### President

#### M. Guerrero (Salvador)

### Vice-Presidents

M. Briand (France)

M. Balodis (Latvia).

M. Stresemann (Germany)

Mr. Ramsay MacDonald (Great Britain).

M. Adatci (Japan).

Dr. Chao-Chu-Wu (China).

#### Chairmen of the Committees

First Committee (Legal and Constitutional Questions):

M. Scialoja (Italy).

Second Committee (Technical Organizations):

M. Motta (Switzerland).

Third Committee (Reduction of Armaments):

M. Benes (Czechoslovakia).

Fourth Committee (Budget and Financial Questions):

Count Moltke (Denmark).
Fifth Committee (Social and Humanitarian Questions):

Mr. O'Sullivan (Irish Free State).

Sixth Committee (Political Questions):

M. Janson (Belgium).