The indemnity was \$200 per session and the members bore the title of "Honourable".

Government

Prior to 1933 there were seven departments of Government: Justice, Finance and Customs, Posts and Telegraphs, Public Works, Agriculture and Mines, Marime and Fisheries and a secretary of State. The Prime Minister was usually the head of a department. The Cabinet Executive Council was made up of the Prime Minister, the Ministers of Justice, Finance and Customs, Posts and Telegraphs, the Secretary of State and six appointees without portfolios.

Government by Commission

On February 17, 1933 a Royal Warrant was issued appointing Lord Amulree, Charles Alexander McGrath and Sir William Ewen Stavert, Royal Commissioners to inquire into the condition of Newfoundland.

The following recommendations were made by the Commission:

- "634. (4) We therefore recommend that the Newfoundland Government, recognizing that it is impossible for the Island to surmount unaided the unprecedented difficulties that now confront it, should make an immediate appeal for the sympathetic cooperation of Your Majesty's Government in the United Kingdom in the adoption and execution of a joint plan of reconstruction of which the following would be the main features:-
 - (a) The existing form of government would be suspended until such time as the Island may become self-supporting again.
 - (b) A Special Commission of Government would be created which would be presided over by His Excellency the Governor, would be vested with full legislative and executive authority, and would take the place of the existing Legislative and Executive Council.