shall be taken to mean Canada as constituted under this act.

- 5. Canada shall be divided into four provinces, named Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick.
- 6. The parts of the province of Canada (as it exists at the passing of this act) which formerly constituted respectively the provinces of Upper Canada and Lower Canada shall be deemed to be severed, and shall form two separate provinces. The part which formerly constituted the province of Upper Canada shall constitute the province of Ontario, and the part which formerly constituted the province of Lower Canada shall constitute the province of Quebec.
- 7. The provinces of Nova Scotia and New Brunswick shall have the same limits as at the passing of this act.
- S In the general census of the population of Canada which is hereby required to be taken in the year one thousand eight hundred and seventy-one, and in every tenth year thereafter, the respective populations of the four provinces shall be distinguished.

III. -- EXECUTIVE POWER

- 9. The executive government and authority of and over Canada is hereby declared to continue and be vested in the Queen.
- 10. The provisions of this act referring to the governor-general extend and apply to the governor-