THE

TORONTO CITY DIRECTORY

FOR THE YEAR 1872-3.

W. HENRY IRWIN, Compiler.

GOVERNMENT OF THE PRO-VINCE OF ONTARIO.

SEAT OF GOVERNMENT-TORONTO.

LIEUTENANT-GOVERNOR,

Hon, W. P. HOWLAND, C.B., Toronto.

CABINET.

Hon. Edward Blake—President of the Council. Hon. Adam Crooks—Atterney General. Hon. Peter Gow—Secretary and Registrar. Hon. Archibald McKellar— Commissioner of Agriculture and Public Works. Hon. R. W. Scott—Commissioner of Crown Lands. Hon. Alexander Mc-Kenzie—Treasurer. James J. Currie— Speaker.

Officers of the House of Assembly.

Charles T. Gilmor-Clerk of the House. James J. Vance-Assistant Clerk and Clerk of Private Bills. John Notman-Queen's Printer. A. H. Sydere-Clerk Routine and Records. Frederick Glackmeyer-Sergeantat-Arms. Thomas Phillips-Housekeeper and Chief Messenger.

ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE, 188 King street west—J. G. Scott, Clerk Executive Council. H. Kinloch—Assistant Clerk.

PROVINCIAL REGISTRAR'S OFFICE. J. F. C. Ussher, Chief Clerk. H. S. Crewe, Clerk.

TREASURER'S DEPARTMENT. — George Matthews—Chief Clerk. W. R. Harris— Accountant

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND PUBLIC WORKS. — Ceorge Buckland — Secretary Bureau of Agriculture William Edwards—Secretary of Public Works and Canavan, John Kerr

Immigration. Kivas Tully—Architect and Engineer of Public Works. H. A. McLauren —Chief Clerk Public Works. F. T. Jones —Accountant.

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION. —Rev. Egerton Ryerson, D.D., LL.D., Chief Superintendent J. George Hodgins — Deputy Superintendent. Alexander Marling, LL.B.—Senior Clerk and Accountant. F. A. Taylor—Clerk of Statistics J. T. R. Stinson—Clerk of Records.. W. H. Atkinson—Clerk of Correspondence. Office, Normal School, Gould Street.

CROWN LANDS DEPARTMENT.—Thomas H. Johnson — Assistant Commissioner. J. M. Currie- Clerk. J. C. Tarbutt. Chief Clerk free grants and sales. Thomas Devine, P. L.S.—Chief Clerk Surveys. J. C. Miller—Chief Clerk woods and foresta. J. W. Bridgland—Superintendent colonization roads. John Morphy—Registrar.

Corporation of the City of Toronto.

ELECTED JANUARY, 1871.

The council meets in the City Hall every Monday evening

Mayor-Joseph Sheard

ALDERMEN.

St Andrew's ward-S B Harman, Henry Godson, Robert Bell

St David's ward—P Hynes, Wm Adamson, Emerson Coatsworth

St George's ward-Thomas Dick, John Turner, Lewis Moffatt

St James' ward—Joseph Sheard, William Hewitt, A Henderson

St John's ward- J Bugg, Wm Thomson, Thomas Downey

St Lawrence ward—Alex Manning, Wm Hamilton, John Hallam

St Patrick's ward—John Baxter, John Canayan, John Kerr