April 2, 1984

Borrowing Authority Act

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Herbert): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Herbert): In my opinion, the nays have it

And more than five Members having risen:

Howie

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Herbert): Call in the Members.

The House divided on the amendment (Mr. Darling) which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 35)

Nystrom

Oberle

Orlikow

Parker

Reid

Riis

Patterson

Robinson

Roche

Scott

Scott

Shields

Siddon

Speyer

Stewart

Thacker

Wenman

Young-74.

Vankoughnet

Towers

(Burnaby)

St. Germain

Sargeant

(St. Catharines)

(Hamilton-Wentworth)

(Victoria-Haliburton)

Ogle

YEAS

Messes

Benjamin Blaikie Blenkarn Bradley Clark (Brandon-Souris) Cook Cooper Cossitt (Mrs.) Crosbie (St. John's West) Crosby (Halifax West) Crouse Dantzer Darling Deans Dick Domm Elzinga Epp Fretz Gamble Greenaway Gurbin Hargrave Hawkes Hnatyshyn

Huntington Jarvis Jelinek Jewett (Ms.) Keeper Kempling Kilgour King Knowles Lawrence Malone Mazankowski McCain McDermid McDonald (Ms.) (Broadview-Greenwood) McGrath McKenzie McKinnon McLean Munro (Esquimalt-Saanich) Murphy Murta Neil Nickerson Nielsen

NAYS

Messrs

Allmand Appolloni (Mrs.) Axworthy Bachand Baker Beauchamp-Niquet (Mrs.) Bégin (Miss) Berger Bloomfield Bockstael Bossy Bujold Burghardt Bussières Caccia Campbell (Miss) (South West Nova) Campbell (LaSalle) Campbell (Cardigan) Chénier Comtois Corbin Corriveau Cosgrove Côté (Mrs.) Cousineau Cullen Dawson De Bané de Corneille Demers Deniger

Cvr

Desmarais Dingwall Dion Dionne (Chicoutimi) Dionne (Northumberland-Miramichi) Dubois Duclos Dupont Dupras Erola (Mrs.) Ethier Evans Ferguson Fisher Fleming

Flis Foster Fox Frith Garant Gauthier Gendron Gimaïel Gingras Gourde (Lévis) Gray Guilbault Harquail Henderson Herbert Hervieux-Payette (Mrs.) Hopkins Hudecki Irwin Isabelle Ittinuar Johnston Joyal Kaplan Kelly Killens (Mrs.)

Messrs

Lachance

Lajoie Lalonde Landers Lang I aniel Lapierre Lapointe (Charlevoix) Lapointe (Beauce) LeBlanc Leduc I efebyre Loiselle MacBain Mackasey MacLaren MacLellan Malépart Maltais Massé Masters McRae Nicholson (Miss) Olivier Ostiguy Ouellet

Parent Pelletier Penner Penin Peterson Pinard Portelance Regan Reid (Kenora-Rainy River) Roberts Rompkey Rooney Rossi Roy Savard Schroder Smith Tardif Tessier Tousignant Trudeau Turner Veillette Watson Weatherhead Whelan Yanakis-126.

• (1710)

Mr. Speaker: I declare the amendment lost.

[Translation]

The question is now on the main motion. Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt this motion?

[English]

Mr. Nielsen: Mr. Speaker, I rise on a point of order. On this division, there might be a disposition of the House, should you seek consent, to have the same votes apply as though they had been taken and so recorded in Hansard.

Mr. Pinard: Yes, Mr. Speaker, we agree provided it is made very clear that the motion will carry.

Mr. Speaker: In other words, the vote will be exactly the reverse of the vote on the amendment and will be applied to the motion, is that correct?

Mr. Nielsen: Yes, Sir.

Mr. Speaker: Is there unanimous consent?

Mr. McMillan: Mr. Speaker, I was not present for the first vote but I wonder if my vote could be included on the second vote.

Mr. Speaker: Is there unanimous consent for the vote of the Hon. Member for Hillsborough (Mr. McMillan) to be added?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. MacLaren) which was agreed to on the following division.