

Photo Trifts



Photo Brewer



CHSR Airs It All



Saturday, the twenty-first of January, was the witness to one of the most prestigious social events held each year at the University of New Brunswick - The College Hill Student Radio Anniversary Celebrations. This marked the seventeenth birthday of what is now called CHSR and included the eighth presentation of the "Barry Awards" which are given each year by the executive to department who built the sports members who have excelled in their fields at CHSR. The awards are named in honour of Dr. Barry Yoell who, as a representative from the UNB student union, attended a conference in 1959 on student radio in Toronto and returned to Fredericton to form a radio society: Radio UNB. This radio club expanded to become a carrier current station, CHSR, which is reputed to have the best equipment and facilities of any radio club in Atlantic Canada. by CHSR Station Director Matthew Penny, who welcomed the many guests, including UNB President John Anderson and Dean of Education, Dugald Blue. Aside from CHSR members, other guests included Peter Quinn, Director of CRSJ, the UNB Saint John radio station; Ray DeBor, Station Manager of CBC Fredericton; and the staffs of CIHI, CHVW, The Brunswickan and The Yearbook. The presentation of the "Barry Awards" began slightly late and was conducted by Director Penny, who introduced the 1977-78 CHSR executive members and noted the absence of CHSR's first director. Dr. Yoell had telephoned Mr. Penny at the station earlier in the day and regretfully informed the fourth year Arts major that he could not attend the social due to the snowstorm.

After the opening remarks, the awards were presented as follows: Rookie of the Year. This award is given to the member who joined CHSR in the fall of 1977 and has contibuted much of his or her time and attention to the station. The award was presented by Dr. Anderson to Jeff Weaver. The Best Sports Award was given by Peter Quinn of CRSJ to the member of the sports

memory of his Station Mana son presented th to a man who da another famous her Pratt). That other than Mik Executive Se Clerihue presen William J. Bur staff up into a full fledged regular Humour Awar deserving Bill B

Bill Burroughs I

in absentia with

Sports Director,

sports crew, David Porter. only inspired t

Behind the Scenes. Dean Blue of the Faculty of Education presented this award to a person who has spent considerable time in the past few years making CHSR an enjoyable place to live in, and has expended much effort at the station on the whole. Barbara Clerihue was a most deserving recipient.

The Best Show award was given contributed the to the originator of CHSR's own "Homegrown", Doug Varty. This choice was overwhelmingly agreed upon judging from the enthusiastic crowd.

The News and Public Affairs award was given to a person who, in the eyes of the executive, was a pioneer in the department of news and public affairs. Sarah Ingersoll of the Brunswickan presented Mike Ireton with the award.

Following these awards, the First Annual Humour Awards were presented. These awards are in honour of people at CHSR who his award am inspired laughter at the station throughout the course of the year. The following people received recognition:

Marc St. Pierre, for his nèver ending work in the technical department, was presented with a broken piece of the master control board, which was accidentally destroyed in the fall.

Moment, but al a household w Following t surprise of the came the pre **Directors** Awa given solely at the director to CHSR in the p In his presen Penny noted t spent a great of up the applica the renewal current licens CHSR might down. The w had also man

technical dep one man ope staff. . There are r I" was Georg

as Mr. Penny Other high included an o

on by CHSR's A.A.U.B. Co-Much time a into creating resulted in 1 five pounds. well oiled that "slow comfo