### COMMONS DEBATES

#### February 7, 1990

Biornson Blais Bourgault Cadieux Cardiff Chadwick Clark (Yellowhead) Collins Corbett Crosby (Halifax West) DeBlois Della Noce Dick Domm Edwards Fee Fretz Gérin Gray (Bonaventure-Îles-de-la-Madeleine) Gustafson Hawkes Hockin Holtmann Horning Hughes James Johnson Kempling Langlois Layton Lewis Loiselle Marin Mayer McCreath McDougall (St. Paul's) Merrithew Nicholson O'Kurley Porter Redway Richardson Roy-Arcelin Schneider Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Siddon Sparrow Tétreault Thompson Tremblay (Rosemont) Tremblay (Lotbinière) Vankoughnet Vien Weiner Wilhee Assiniboia) Worthy-118

Allmand Angus Assad Barrett Berger Black Blaikie Caccia Clancy Ferguson Fontana Funk Gagliano Gauthier Grey (Beaver River) Harb Harvey (Edmonton East) Hovdebo

Blenkarn Boyer Campbell (Vancouver Centre) Casey Champagne (Champlain) Clifford Cook Crosbie (St. John's West) Darling de Cotret Desjardins Dobhie Duplessis Epp Feltham Friesen Gibeau Greene Harvey (Chicoutimi) Hicks Hogue Horner Hudon Jacques Jelinek Joncas Koury Larrivée Leblanc (Longueuil) Littlechild MacDonald (Rosedale) Martin (Lincoln) Mazankowski McDermid McKnight Monteith Nowlan Plourde Pronovost Reid Robitaille St-Julien Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Shields Soetens Tardif Thacker Thorkelson Tremblay (Québec-Est) Van de Walle Venne Vincent White Wilson (Swift Current-Maple Creek-Wilson (Etobicoke Centre)

Blackburn (Jonquière)

# NAYS

Members

Anawak Arseneault Axworthy (Saskatoon-Clark's Crossing) Bélair Bevilacqua Blackburn (Brant) Boudria Catterall Crawford Finestone Fulton Gaffney Gardiner Gray (Windsor West) Guarnieri Harvard Heap Hunter

#### Government Orders

Jordan Kaplan Karpoff Keyes Kilger (Stormont-Dundas) Langan (Mission-Coquitlam) Langdon (Essex-Windsor) Laporte MacAulay Lee MacLaren MacLellan MacWilliam Mahen Marleau Manley McCurdy McGuire Mifflin Milliken Pagtakhan Nault Parent Parker Peterson Pickard Proud Prud'homme Robichaud Rodriguez Skelly (Comox-Alberni) Speller Stewar Stupich Vanclief Waddell Walker Whittaker Wood Young (Gloucester)-76

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): I declare the motion carried.

**Mr. Lewis:** Mr. Speaker, I wish at this time to confirm, after discussions among House leaders, that tomorrow will be an allotted day.

Mr. Milliken: Mr. Speaker, there have been discussions among the parties and I think you will find a disposition, notwithstanding Standing Order 57, to allow the speeches to proceed on the basis of 10 minutes each in the usual allocation, unless the speaker for one of the parties stands up and indicates that he or she will be speaking for 20 minutes. The normal rule will be 10 minutes.

**Mr. Hawkes:** Mr. Speaker, I want to confirm for the assistance of the Speaker that if an individual party would like to take 20 minutes for one member, then he or she would so notify the Chair at the beginning of the speech.

Otherwise it will be two speakers per party in the normal rotation and 10 minutes each.

Mr. Axworthy (Saskatoon—Clark's Crossing): Yes, that is the understanding of the NDP, too, Mr. Speaker.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Paproski): It is so agreed. The hon. member for Prince Edward—Hastings.

# \* \* \*

# **EXCISE TAX ACT**

### MEASURE TO AMEND

The House resumed from Tuesday, February 6, consideration of the motion of Mr. Wilson (Etobicoke Centre) that Bill C-62, an act to amend the Excise Tax Act, the Criminal Code, the Customs Act, the Customs Tariff, the Excise Act, the Income Tax Act, the Statistics Act and the Tax Court of Canada Act, be read a second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Finance; and