Of the Corporation of the Village of Tweed; praying for the passing of an Act compelling telephone companies, before erecting poles or conduits, to first obtain municipal approval.

And of the Facer Solid Steel Car Wheel Company, of Perth, Limited; praying for the passing of an Act authorizing the Commissioner of Patents to receive application for certificate of payment and fees upon patent No. 53321.

The Honourable Mr. Templeman, from the Committee of Selection, appointed to nominate the Senators to serve on the several Standing Committees for the present Session, presented their First Report.

Ordered, That it be received, and

The same was then read by the Clerk, and it is as follows :--

## THE SENATE,

## COMMITTEE ROOM No. 2,

## WEDNESDAY, January 18, 1905.

The Committee of Selection, appointed to nominate the Senators to serve on the several Standing Committees for the present Session, have the honour to report herewith the following lists of Senators selected by them to serve on each of the said Standing Committees, namely:--

The Joint Committee on the Library of Parliament :--

The Honourable the Speaker, and the Honourable Messieurs: Baker, Boucherville, de, C.M.G., Cartwright, Sir Richard, G.C.M.G., Davis, Drummond, Sir George, K.C.M.G., Ferguson, Forget, Godbout, Gowan, C.M.G., Hingston, Sir William, Kt., McHugh, Miller, Poirier, Power, Thibaudeau (de la Vallière), Wilson, Young.-18.

The Joint Committee on the Printing of Parliament :--

The Honourable Messieurs: Bernier, Black, Bostock, Bowell, Sir Mackenzie, K.C.M.G., Carling, Sir John, K.C.M.G., Casgrain (de Lanaudière), Church, Cloran, Coffey, Dobson, Domville, Ellis, Fiset, Frost, Gibson, Legris, Macdonald (P.E.I.), Mackay (Alma), MacKeen, Merner, Shehyn, Templeman, Wark, Watson.-24.

The Committee on Standing Orders :---

The Honourable Messieurs: Carling, Sir John, K.C.M.G., Choquette, Church, Macdonald (P.E.I.), Macdonald (Victoria), McKay (Truro), Tessier, Yeo, Young.-9.

The Committee on Banking and Commerce:-

The Honourable Messieurs: Black, Bowell, Sir Mackenzie, K.C.M.G., Cartwright, Sir Richard, G.C.M.G., Casgrain (Windsor), Cox, Drummond, Sir George, K.C.M.G., Edwards, Ferguson, Forget, Fulford, Jones, Kerr (Cobourg), Lougheed, Macdonald (P.E.I.), Mackay (Alma), MacKeen, McDonald (Cape Breton), McGregor, McMillan, McSweeney, Mitchell, Perley, Ross, Scott, Sullivan, Thibaudeau (Rigaud), Thibaudeau (de la Vallière), Thompson, Wood, Yeo.-30.

The Committee on Railways, Telegraphs and Harbours :---

The Honourable Messieurs: Baird, Baker, Béique, Bolduc, Bowell, Sir Mackenzie, K.C.M.G., Carling, Sir John, K.C.M.G., Casgrain (de Lanaudière), Choquette, Cox, David, Domville, Drummond, Sir George, K.C.M.G., Ellis, Ferguson, Fiset, Frost, Gibson, Godbout, Jones, Kerr (Cobourg), Kerr (Toronto), King, Kirchhoffer, Landry, Lougheed, Lovitt, Macdonald (Victoria), Mackay (Alma), McDonald (Cape Breton),