

902CANAD

PRESSRELEASE

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS OTTAWA - CANADA

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE TUESDAY, APRIL 29, 1958

THE DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS ANNOUNCED TODAY THAT CANADIAN CITIZENS VISITING THE NORDIC COUNTRIES OF EUROPE - DENMARK, FINLAND, NORWAY AND SWEDEN - FOR MORE THAN THREE MONTHS WILL BE AFFECTED BY A PASSPORT WAIVER CONVENTION BETWEEN THE NORDIC COUNTRIES WHICH COMES INTO FORCE ON MAY 1.

CANADIAN VISITORS WILL BENEFIT FROM THE SIMPLIFICATION OF BORDER-CROSSING FORMALITIES PROVIDED BY THE CONVENTION TO FACILITATE TRAVEL WITHIN THE NORDIC AREA BUT THOSE REMAINING LONGER THAN A TOTAL OF THREE MONTHS IN ONE OR MORE OF THE COUNTRIES WILL BE REQUIRED AT THE END OF THREE MONTHS TO OBTAIN RESIDENCE PERMITS FROM THE LOCAL AUTHORITIES.TIME SPENT IN ANY OF THE NORDIC COUNTRIES IN THE PRECEDING SIX MONTHS WOULD BE INCLUDED IN THE THREE-MONTH PERIOD.RESIDENCE PERMITS WILL BE GRANTED WITHOUT CHARGE.

EXISTING REGULATIONS PERMITTING VISA-FREE ENTRY OF CANADIANS TO DEMMARK, NORWAY AND SWEDEN AND PROVIDING FOR THE ISSUANCE OF VISAS WITHOUT CHARGE FOR ENTRY TO FINLAND ARE NOT AFFECTED BY THE NEW CONVENTION.