Ontario became united into a confederation known as the Dominion of Canada. Since then British Columbia, Prince Edward Island and the enormous possessions of the Hudson Bay Company have been added, so that the Dominion now embraces all the British possessions in the northern parts of America with the exception of Newfoundland. Canada has a population of 5,500,000 and an area of 3,600,000 square miles.

THE POPULATION OF NEW BRUNSWICK.

The first census of New Brunswick was taken in the year 1824, at which time it had 74,175 inhabitants. In 1834, the number of its people had increased to 119,457 and in 1840 to 156,662. At the last census, taken in the year 1901, the population was 331,121.

FORM OF GOVERNMENT.

Canada is governed under the same constitutional forms which exist in Great Britain, except that it is a federation of provinces. The government of Canada has jurisdiction over all the provinces with regard to certain matters such as the imposition of customs and excise duties, the regulation of the foreign commerce of the country, the maintenance of the militia, the control of the railways uniting the several provinces, the passing of criminal laws, the maintenance of penitentiaries and all subjects of a general nature. The parliament consists of a House of Commons elected by the people, and a Senate or Upper House nominated by the crown, while the authority of Great Britain is represented by the Governor General. Responsible government prevails throughout Canada. The House of Commons is the body which makes and unmakes ministries. As in