## Government Orders

That this House commends the exemplary conduct of the men and women of the Canadian Forces at Oka and Chateauguay.

That, in the opinion of this House, the laws of Canada must apply on all Canadian territory, including Kahnawake, and that all persons currently at the Kanesatake Treatment Centre should lay down their arms and submit to the processes of Canada's judicial system, thereby encouraging the creation of a constructive climate for discussions between governments and the Mohawk people on land claims and other issues; and

That upon adoption of this motion, the said motion shall be deemed referred to the Standing Committee on Justice and Solicitor General.

## And the amendment of Ms. Blondin:

That the motion be amended by deleting all the words after the word "Châteauguay" and replacing them with the following:

"and that this House condemns the complete failure of the government to address and offer solutions to the problems that led to the Armed Forces being deployed; and

That upon adoption of this motion, the said motion be deemed referred to the Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs.

## And the subamendment of Ms. McLaughlin:

That the motion be amended by deleting the words "this House condemns the complete failure of the government" and replacing them with:

"this House condemns the complete failure of the current and past governments".

**Mr. Speaker:** We will now proceed to the deferred divisions. The question is on the amendment to the amendment. Call in the members.

The House divided on the subamendment, which was negatived on the following division:

## (Division No. 289)

### YEAS

#### Members

Angus

Black

Althouse Axworthy (Saskatoon-Clark's Crossing) Blackburn (Brant) Breaugh Butland Fisher Gardiner Grey (Beaver River) Hunter Kindy Langan (Mission-Coquitlam) Lapierre McCurdy Murphy Parker Riis Rocheleau Skelly (Comox-Alberni) Tremblay (Rosemont) Whittaker -39

Blaikie Brewin Duceppe Funk Gérin Hovdebo Karpoff Kristiansen Langdon (Essex-Windsor) Leblanc (Longueuil) Mitchell Nystrom Plamondon Robinson Rodriguez Taylor Waddell

Andre Assad Attewell Baker Bélair Belsher Bernier Bird Blackburn (Jonquière) Bosley Boudria Boyer Browes Cadieux Campbell (South West Nova) Cardiff Chadwick Charest Cole Comuzzi Cooper Corbett Crawford Crosby (Halifax West) Darling de Cotret Dick Dionne Domm Duhamel Edwards Feltham Ferland Flis Fontana Friesen Gagliano Gibeau Gray (Windsor West) Guilbault Halliday Harvard Hawkes Hockin Holtmann Horner Hughes James Johnson Iordan Kempling Kilger (Stormont-Dundas) Langlois Layton Lee Loiselle MacDonald (Dartmouth) MacKay MacLellan Malone Marchi Marleau Mayer McCreath McKnight Merrithew Milliken Mitges Moore Nicholson O'Kurley Parent Phinney Plourde Pronovost Prud'homme Reimer Rideout Rompkey Schneider

# NAYS

#### Members

Arseneault Atkinson Axworthy (Winnipeg South Centre) Beatty Bellemare Berger Bertrand Biornson Blais Bouchard (Roberval) Bourgault Brightwell Caccia Callbeck Campbell (Vancouver Centre) Casev Champagne (Champlain) Clancy Collins Cook Corheil Côté Crosbie (St. John's West) Danis DeBlois Della Noce Dingwall Dobhie Dorin Duplessis Epp Ferguson Finestone Fontaine Fretz Gaffney Gauthier Gray (Bonaventure - Îles-de-la-Madeleine) Greene Gustafson Harb Harvey (Chicoutimi) Hicks Hogue Hopkins Horning Jacques Jelinek Joncas Karygiannis Keves Koury Larrivée LeBlanc (Cape Breton Highlands-Canso) Littlechild MacDonald (Rosedale) MacDougall (Timiskaming) MacLaren Maheu Manley Marin Martin (Lasalle-Émard) Mazankowski McGuire McLean Mifflin Mills Monteith Nault Nunziata Pagtakhan Peterson Pickard Porter Proud Reid Richardson Robitaille Rov-Arcelin Scott (Victoria-Haliburton)