News Release

Secretary of State for **External Affairs**



Communiqué

Secrétaire d'État aux Affaires extérieures

January 13, 1992

CANADIAN MEMBERS APPOINTED TO PERMANENT COURT OF ARBITRATION

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Barbara McDougall, today announced the appointments of the Honourable Madame Justice Beverley McLachlin of the Supreme Court of Canada, Mr. Barry Mawhinney, Legal Advisor to External Affairs and International Trade Canada, and Professor Sharon Williams of Osgoode Hall Law School (York University) as Canadian Members of the Permanent Court of Arbitration.

Madame Justice McLachlin replaces Madame Justice Bertha Wilson, whose mandate expired on June 30, 1990. Mr. Mawhinney replaces Mr. Edward Lee, who tendered his resignation in August 1990. Professor Williams replaces Professor Edward McWhinney, whose mandate expired on April 24, 1991. The other Canadian member is Bâtonnier Henri Grondin, QC, of Quebec City.

The Permanent Court of Arbitration was established under the Convention for the Pacific Settlement of International Disputes of 1899. Members of the Court hold office for six years and serve without honorarium. Canadian members are drawn from four constituencies of the Canadian legal community: the Bench, the academic community, the public service and the practising bar.

In addition to the duties the Canadian members may be called on to perform as arbitrators, they also serve as the Canadian National Group under the Statute of the International Court of Justice. The function of the Group is to submit nominations to the Secretary-General of the United Nations for the election of judges to the International Court of Justice.

- 30 -

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Media Relations Office External Affairs and International Trade Canada (613) 995-1874

anadä

Affaires extérieures et