It is clear, then, that if this development should materialize it would bring an important manufacturing industry to the Yukon or northern British Columbia, depending upon where the best industrial sites can be found. Furthermore, the population centres which would be created by this industry might, as I suggested in the case of Pine Point, be sufficient to stimulate small secondary manufacturing industries.

Before concluding these remarks, I thought that you might be interested in a brief description of the form of government of these northern territories. The administration both of the Yukon and of the Northwest Territories is the responsibility of a Commissioner who acts under instructions from the Governor-in-Council or the Minister The Commissioner of the of Resources and Development. Yukon is an official of the Department of Resources and The Commissioner of Development who resides at Whitehorse. the Northwest Territories is also an official of the Department of Resources and Development but he is stationed in Ottawa and happens to be addressing you at this moment. Both the Territories have a legislative council with powers to pass ordinances covering a wide variety of subjects which, roughly speaking, are comparable to those lying within the jurisdiction of provincial legislatures, excepting that the Territories do not own or administer their natural resources. In the Yukon the Territorial Council consists of five members who are elected by the residents of five constituencies in the Territory. The representative nature of the Yukon Council goes back to the beginning of this century when the population of the territory was much larger than it now is - by the 1901 census there were over 27,000 people in the Yukon, and the population had already begun to decline from its peak during the gold rush of 1898 to 1900. As the population declined further the number of members on the Territorial Council was reduced but its fully elective character was never changed. the population again started to increase, rising from 4,157 in 1941 to 9,096 in 1951, the size of the Council was increased from three to five members.

In the Northwest Territories the history has been somewhat different. When the Provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan were carved out of the old Northwest Territories in 1905 and the Territories assumed more or less their present boundaries, the population was sparse and widely scattered and based on a trapping economy. The Territories therefore needed little government other than game regulation and policing. With the development of mineral production, however, starting in the 1930's, both the economy and the population expanded and the extent of governmental functions increased. Prior to 1951 the Northwest Territories Council consisted of six members, all of whom were appointed by the Federal Government. In 1951, however, appointed by the Federal Government. the Parliament of Canada decided that the Territories had reached a stage of development where some measure of representation was called for, and the Northwest Territories Act was amended to increase the size of the Council to eight members, five to be appointed by the Federal Government and three to be elected by the residents of three constituencies in the Mackenzie District. The amendme The amendment also provided that the Northwest Territories Council should meet at least twice a year, once in Ottawa and once at some point in the Territories.