In 1926, when the admission of Germany to membership in the League and the recognition of her right to a permanent seat on the Council forced the reconstruction of the Council, several states, notably Brazil, Spain, and Poland, insisted that their claims to permanent seats should be recognized. The present arrangement is essentially a compromise conditioned by the political situation existing at that time. The number of non-permanent seats was then increased, provision for quasi-permanent seats was made and undertakings given that certain conventions would, in future, govern the elections to the Council. One such convention, the perpetual re-eligibility of Spain and Poland, has been referred to, a second that there should always be three Latin-American States on the Council was offered as an inducement to Brazil to withdraw her resignation from the League. Brazil persisted in her withdrawal but the other Latin-American States snapped up the offer and have since maintained their right to three seats, although with Brazil out of the League, the grounds for this claim are not apparent. It does, however, explain the presence of Panama, Mexico and the Argentine Republic on the Council.

Similarly it came to be recognized that one of the non-permanent seats should go to an Asiatic country in addition to Japan's permanent seat. Hence, when Persia's term expired in September, 1931, China's election in her place was assured.