Mr. Claude Laverdure, born in Montréal (Québec), as Ambassador to the Republic of Zaire with concurrent accreditation to the Republic of Burundi and to the Republic of Rwanda.

Mr. Laverdure [B.A., Collège André Grasset, Montréal, 1961; B.A., Political Science, University of Montréal, 1964; M.A., Political Science, University of Montréal, 1965] joined the Department of External Affairs in 1965 and was a Departmental Assistant in the Minister's Office in 1965 and 1966. He served in Brussels, Paris and Tunis as a Counsellor from 1976 to 1979. In Ottawa, he worked with the Federal-Provincial Coordination Division during 1971 and 1972, and with the Secretary of State in 1972 and 1973. He was Section Head, Personnel Division in 1973 and 1974; Deputy Director, Francophone Institutions from 1974 to 1976; Deputy Director, Information Programs from 1979 to 1981; Deputy Director, Federal-Provincial Coordination in 1981 and 1982, and Executive Assistant, Minister for International Relations from 1982 to 1986. From 1986 to 1988, he was Ambassador to the Republic of Haiti, and since 1988 has been Federal Coordinator for La Francophonie. He is married to Suzanne Bisson; the couple have three children. Mr. Laverdure replaces Ms. C. Cupples.

Ms. Anne Leahy, born in Québec City, as Ambassador to the Republic of Cameroon with concurrent accreditation to the Republic of Chad.

Ms. Leahy [B.A., Economics, Queen's University, M.A. Economics, University of Toronto] joined the Department of External Affairs in 1973. In Ottawa, she has worked with the United States Relations Division, with Trade Relations and with the Press Office. She served in Brussels as Second Secretary, Mission to the European Communities, from 1974 to 1976; in Moscow as First Secretary and Consul from 1980 to 1982; and in Paris as Counsellor, Canadian Delegation to the OECD, from 1982 to 1986. In Ottawa, she was Deputy Director, Personnel Division, Political-Economic Stream, in 1986 and 1987, and Director, Personnel Division, Political, Economic and Social Affairs since 1987. Ms. Leahy replaces Mr. A. Simard.