LOCAL GOVERNMENT IN THE MARITIME PROVINCES

Out of the territory east of the Penobscot and south of the St. Lawrence were carved the three Maritime Provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island. The French called the district Acadie, and the Scottish King of England, in his grant to Sir William Alexander in 1621, Nova Scotia. The Isle of St. Jean (now Prince Edward Island) was granted a separate government in 1769, but was not renamed until 1799 after the visit of Prince Edward. The Loyalists on the river St. John, exasperated by delays in the issue of land patents and by apparent neglect, demanded and got separation from Nova Scotia in 1784 and in the name of the new province the House of Brunswick was honoured. In 1784 the island of Cape Breton was granted a separate government, but was reannexed to Nova Scotia in 1820.

To-day these provinces contain less than 1,000,000 people, about one-fourth of whom live in "cities" and "towns." Nova Scotia has two cities, thirty-two incorporated towns and twenty rural municipalities; New Brunswick three cities, about twenty incorporated towns, and fifteen counties; and Prince Edward Island, one city and one town. The largest "cities," Halifax and St. John, have each a population of less than 50,000. The following table, compiled from the census returns, shows that the percentage living in towns and cities is smaller than in Ontario or Quebec:

Total and Urban Population²

	Total.		Urban.		Percentage Urban,	
P. E. Island New Brunswick	1891 109,078 321,263	1901 103,259 331,120	1891 14,285 48,901	1901 14,955 77,285	1891 13. 15.2	1901 14.4 23.3
Nova Scotia	450,396	459.574	76,993	129,383	(19.9) 17.1	(20.1) 28.1 (24.)
Quebec Ontario	1,488,535	1,648,898 2,182,947	499,715 818,99°	656,231 935,978	33·5 38·7	39.8 42.7

The name of New Ireland was proposed at different times for each of these new provinces. The Legislature of Prince Edward in 1780 adopted the name, but the Sovereign disapproved. Later it was proposed for New Brunswick (N.B. Historical Collections No. 6, p. 441), but again prejudice prevailed over the passion for symmetry.

² In the census of 1891, the population of certain towns in N.B. and N.S. was returned as part of their parishes or districts and therefore as rural. For purposes of [223]