Criminal Code

has taken the opportunity to use Bill C-51 to incorporate this important measure which can keep our prisons from exploding again. In view of the fact that all parties were unanimous and non-partisan in the committee, I hope this motion will be passed unanimously.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Ethier): Is the House ready for the question?

Some hon. Members: Ouestion.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Ethier): Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Some hon. Members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Ethier): All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Ethier): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Ethier): In my opinion the yeas have it.

Some hon. Members: On division.

Motion No. 39 (Mr. Fox) agreed to.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Ethier): Since all motions at the report stage have been considered, the House will now proceed to the outstanding recorded divisions on those motions.

Call in the members.

And the division bells having been rung:

• (2310)

Mr. Speaker: The first question is on motion No. 25 in the name of the hon, member for Moose Jaw (Mr. Neil).

The House divided on motion No. 25 (Mr. Neil) which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 85)

YEAS

Messrs

Baker
(Grenville-Carleton)
Beatty
Brisco
Cadieu
Caouette
(Villeneuve)
Clark
(Rocky Mountain)
Coates
Crouse
Darling
Dick

Elzinga
Epp
Fraser
Grafftey
Halliday
Holmes
Huntington
Jarvis
Johnston
Kempling
Lambert
(Bellechasse)

La Salle

MacDonald (Miss)
(Kingston and the Islands)
Malone
Marshall
Mazankowski
McCain
McCleave
McKinnon
Mitges
Neil
O'Sullivan
Paproski

Messrs.

Patterson Rondeau
Peters Schumacher
Pigott (Mrs.) Scott
Ritchie Stanfield

Towers Whiteway Whittaker Woolliams—(45)

MacFarlane

Maine

NAYS

Messrs.

Appolloni (Mrs.) Basford Bégin (Miss) Blais Blaker Blouin Boulanger Breau Bussières Caccia Cafik Campagnolo (Mrs.) Caron Chrétien Clermont Cullen Dawson De Bané Demers Dionne (Northumberland Miramichi) Douglas (Bruce-Grey) Duclos Dupras Duquet Ethier Foster Francis Gilbert

Goodale Goyer Gray Guay (St. Boniface) Guay (Lévis) Haidasz Harquail Herbert Hogan Holt (Mrs.) Hopkins Joval Kaplan Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Lajoie Lalonde Lamontagne Landers Lang Langlois Lapointe Lefebyre Leggatt Lessard Loiselle (Chambly) Lumley MacDonald

McIsaac Munro (Hamilton Fast) Nicholson (Miss) O'Connell Orlikow Ouellet Parent Pearsall Penner Philhrook Portelance Poulin Railton Raines Roberts Rodriguez Rompkey Roy (Laval) Saltsman Sauvé (Mrs.) Savard Sharp Smith (Saint-Jean) Tessier Trudeau Trudel Watson Young—(90)

Gillespie

(2320)

Mr. Speaker: I therefore declare motion No. 25 lost.

(Cardigan)

The question is on motion No. 29.

The House divided on motion No. 29 (Mr. Leggatt) which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 86)

YEAS

Messrs

(Grenville-Carleton) Beatty Blackburn Brisco Cadieu Caouette (Villeneuve) Clark (Rocky Mountain) Coates Crouse Darling Dick Elzinga Epp Fraser Gilbert Grafftey

Halliday

Hogan Holmes Huntington Jarvis Johnston Kempling Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Lambert (Bellechasse) La Salle Leggatt MacDonald (Miss) (Kingston and the Islands) Malone Marshall Mazankowski

Hnatyshyn

McCain McKinnon Mitges Orlikow O'Sullivan Paproski Patterson Peters Pigott (Mrs.) Ritchie Rodriguez Rondeau Schumacher Scott Stanfield Towers Whiteway Whittaker Woolliams—(53)

[Mrs. Holt.]