October 24, 1967

COMMONS DEBATES

[English]

Mr. Fairweather: Mr. Speaker, I was paired with the hon. member for Charlotte (Mr. McLean). Had I voted I would have voted in favour of the subamendment.

Mr. Speaker: The question is now on the amendment to the main motion. Is it the wish of the house that the bells be rung?

Some hon. Members: No.

The house divided on the amendment (Mr. Hamilton) which was negatived on the following division:

Aiken Alkenbrack Baldwin Barnett Beaulieu Bell (Carleton) Bell (Saint John-Albert) Bigg Bower Brand Brewin Cadieu (Meadow Lake) Cameron (Nanaimo-Cowichan-The Islands) Cantelon Churchill Coates Crouse Danforth Diefenbaker Dinsdale Dionne Douglas Enns Fane Fawcett Flemming Forbes Forrestall Gauthier Germa Godin Grills Gundlock Hamilton Harkness Hees Herridge Horner (The Battlefords) Howe (Wellington-Huron) Irvine Jorgenson Keays Knowles Korchinski Lambert Laprise 27053-2183

YEAS Messrs: Lewis Loney MacDonald (Prince) MacEwan MacInnis (Cape Breton South) MacInnis (Mrs.) (Vancouver-Kingsway) MacLean (Queens) Macquarrie MacRae McKinley McLelland McQuaid Madill Martin (Timmins) Mather Monteith Moore More Muir (Lisgar) Nasserden Nesbitt Noble Nowlan Orlikow Ormiston Pascoe Prittie Pugh Rapp Régimbal Ricard Rynard Saltsman Schreyer Sherman Simard Simpson Skoreyko Smallwood Smith Southam Starr Stefanson Valade Watson (Assiniboia) Webb Winch Woolliams-94.

Allmand Andras Asselin (Richmond-Wolfe) Basford Batten Béchard Beer Benson Berger Blouin Boulanger Brown Byrne Cameron (High Park) Cantin Caron Cashin Chatwood Choquette Chrétien Clermont Côté (Dorchester) Côté (Longueuil) Côté (Nicolet-Yamaska) Cowan Crossman Davis Deachman Drury Duquet Émard Ethier Gendron Gordon Goyer Gray Greene Groos Guav Haidasz Honey Hymmen Isabelle Klein Lachance Laflamme Laing Langlois (Chicoutimi) Laniel Laverdière Leblanc (Laurier) LeBlanc (Rimouski) Lefebvre Legault

Division NAYS

Messrs:

Lessard Loiselle Macdonald (Rosedale) MacEachen Mackasey McIlraith McNulty McWilliam Marchand Matheson Matte Mongrain Morison Munro Nicholson Nixon Olson Otto Ouellet Patterson Pearson Pennell Pilon Prud'homme Racine Reid Richard Rinfret Robichaud Rochon Rock Roxburgh Sauvé Sharp Stafford Stanbury Stewart Tardif Teillet Thomas (Maisonneuve-Rosemont) Tolmie Tremblay (Matapédia-Matane) Tremblay (Richelieu-Verchères) Trudeau Tucker Turner Wahn Watson (Châteauguay-Huntingdon-Laprairie) Whelan Yanakis-104.

• (8:50 p.m.)

Mr. Speaker: I declare the amendment lost.

Mr. McCleave: Mr. Speaker, I was paired with the Minister of National Defence (Mr. Cadieux).

Mrs. Wadds: Mr. Speaker, I was paired with the hon. member for Niagara Falls (Miss LaMarsh). If I had voted, I would have voted for the amendment.