An Hon. Senator: Dispense.

The Hon. the Speaker pro tempore: Is it your pleasure, honourable senators, to adopt the motion in amendment?

Some Hon. Senators: Yes.

Some Hon. Senators: No.

### MOTION FOR ADJOURNMENT NEGATIVED

Hon. Gildas L. Molgat (Deputy Leader of the Opposition): Before the vote is put, I was hoping that there would be some kind of response from the government side. I do not think they could have been listening to what my honourable colleague was saying. The proposal in this bill is absolutely immoral. If an individual leaves a job, supposedly without just cause, that individual loses all the accumulated UI contributions of past years.

Senator Corbin: It is robbery.

Senator Frith: They paid that money in themselves.

Senator Molgat: Yes. So I think my honourable friends need some more time to think things over. I move the adjournment of the debate.

The Hon. the Speaker pro tempore: It is moved by the Honourable Senator Molgat, seconded by Honourable Senator Petten that the debate be now adjourned. Is it your pleasure, honourable senators, to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Senators: Yes.

Some Hon. Senators: No.

The Hon. the Speaker pro tempore: Those in favour, please say "yea".

Some Hon. Senators: Yea.

The Hon. the Speaker pro tempore: Those against, please say "nay."

Some Hon. Senators: Nay.

The Hon. the Speaker pro tempore: In my opinion the "nays" have it.

Senator Molgat: If there is to be closure of this kind, let's find out.

Senator Murray: The time for debate is over.

And two honourable senators having risen.

The Hon. the Speaker pro tempore: Call in the senators.

Hon. William M. Kelly: Shall we have a 15-minute bell?

The Hon. the Speaker pro tempore: Then at 11:40, the vote will take place.

• (1140)

Motion for adjournment negatived on the following division:

## YEAS

## THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Adams Cools Corbin Davey Frith Gigantès Graham Hastings Hébert LeBlanc Molgat Neiman Olson Petten Robichaud—15

#### NAYS

# THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Atkins Balfour Barootes Berntson Bolduc Buchanan Chaput-Rolland Cochrane Cogger Comeau Di Nino Dovle Forrestall Johnson Kelly Kinsella Lavoie-Roux

Lynch-Staunton Macdonald (Cape Breton) MacDonald (Halifax) Macquarrie Murray Oliver Phillips Poitras Rivest Robertson Ross Rossiter Simard Spivak Stratton Sylvain-33

## ABSTENTIONS

## THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Nil