Division

the blame for this catastrophic situation on the separatist movement in Quebec.

The member for Verdun (Mr. Mackasey) said: If the rates of unemployment is now so high in Quebec, it is due to the Quebec separatists. If I ever wished to deny a statement, this is it.

I reject the minister's statement because it endangers the atmosphere of security and of confidence which the industrialists necessarily look for when they try to establish in this province industries that can provide the unemployed with work.

Mr. Speaker,—unfortunately, I see that time is running out and that I must hurry. I must draw to the attention of the government that they did not take into account some of their responsibilities.

In the field of secondary industry, which is the basis of Canadian economy, this government has been totally powerless and inefficient. We are still awaiting an early announcement of a legislation to stimulate the development of secondary industry in Canada, which is threatened by a host of finished products from abroad.

In fact, our market is now invaded by finished products, imported at prices lower than those found on the Canadian market but the government has presented no legislation that could protect our manufacturers.

Unfortunately, Mr. Speaker, I realize that my time is up and I hope I will have the opportunity to get back to this matter.

[English]

Mr. Speaker: It being 9:45 o'clock p.m. pursuant to section 9 of Standing Order 58 it is my duty to interrupt the proceedings and forthwith put, without further debate or amendment, every question necessary to dispose of the said proceeding.

The house divided on the amendment (Mr. Broadbent) which was negatived on the following division:

YEAS

Messrs:

Benjamin Lewis Broadbent MacInnis (Mrs.) Burton Orlikow Douglas (Nanaimo-Peters Cowichan-The Islands) Schreyer Skoberg Gilbert Harding Thomson (Battleford-Knowles (Winnipeg Kindersley) —14.

North Centre) [Mr. Valade.]

NAYS Wessrs.

Hales Aiken Alexander Alkenbrack Hellver Allmand Hogarth Badanai Honey Baldwin Hopkins Barrett Horner Beaudoin

Béchard Bell. Isabelle Jamieson Blouin Jerome Boulanger

Breau Brown Buchanan Caccia

Cadieux (Labelle)

Cafik Cantin Carter Chappell Clermont Coates Cobbe Comeau Comtois

Côté (Richelieu)

Crossman Cullen Cyr Danson Davis Deachman Deakon

De Bané Dinsdale

Dionne Douglas (Assiniboia)

Downey Drury Dubé Dumont Duquet Émard Fairweather Flemming Forest. Forrestall Fortin Francis Gauthier Gendron Gervais Gibson Gillespie Givens Godin

Goode Goyer Gray Grills

Groos Guay (St. Boniface) Guilbault

Gundlock Haidasz

Harkness Howard (Okanagan

Boundary) Hymmen

Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand) Korchinski Lachance

Lambert (Edmonton

West) Lang Langlois Laniel Laprise La Salle Latulippe Leblanc (Laurier)

LeBlanc (Rimouski) Lefebyre

Legault Lessard (LaSalle) Lind Loiselle

Lundrigan MacDonald (Egmont) Macdonald (Rosedale) MacEachen

MacEwan MacGuigan MacInnis Mackasev MacLean Macquarrie MacRae McCleave McCutcheon McIlraith McIntosh McKinley McNulty Mahoney

Marchand (Langelier) Marchand (Kamloops-

Cariboo) Marshall Monteith Moore Morison

Muir (Cape Breton-

The Sydneys) Munro Murphy Nesbitt Noble Noël Nowlan Olson Quellet

Paproski