in no way subject to federal jurisdiction. For the reasons that were discussed in committee of the whole it is necessary that the Broome lending institutions under this bill should be such as are subject to federal jurisdiction and under federal supervision.

Some hon. Members: Question.

Hon. Lionel Chevrier (Laurier): If I may take just one moment of the time of the house, Mr. Speaker, I should like to say this in so far as this amendment is concerned. It was those of us who sit in the official opposition who raised the subject matter for the first time.

Mr. Argue: That is not right.

Mr. Chevrier: It is right.

Mr. Argue: You moved the motion for the first time.

Mr. Chevrier: It was the hon. member for Levis (Mr. Bourget) who raised it, and both he and I moved amendments in connection with the matter. For that reason, and so there may be no misunderstanding about the matter, we propose to support this amendment.

Mr. Speaker: Is the house ready for the question?

Some hon. Members: Question.

The house divided on the amendment (Mr. Howard) which was negatived on the following division:

### YEAS

### Messrs:

Badanai Batten Benidickson Boulanger Bourget Bourque Cardin Caron Carter Chevrier Clermont Crestoh1 Denis Dumas Dupuis Eudes Fisher Godin Habel

Hellver

Herridge

Howard LaMarsh, Miss Leduc McMillan Martin (Essex East) Mitchell Nixon Pearson Peters Pickersgill Pitman Racine Ratelle Richard (St. Maurice-

Lafleche) Roberge Robichaud Tardif Tucker Winch-41.

# NAYS

## Messrs:

Aitken, Miss Allard Allmark Anderson Balcer Baldwin

Barrington Baskin Beech Bell (Carleton) Bell (Saint John-Albert) Belzile Best

# Division

Bissonnette Bourdages Brassard (Chicoutimi) Browne (St. John's West) McFarlane Browne (Vancouver-Kingsway) Bruchesi Brunsden Cadieu Campbell (Lambton-Kent) Campbell (Stormont) Cardiff Casselman, Mrs. Cathers Chambers Charlton Chown Churchill Clancy Coates Comtois Cooper Creaghan Crouse Danforth Deschambault Diefenbaker Dorion Doucett Drouin Drysdale Dubois English Fairclough, Mrs. Fairfield Fleming (Eglinton) Forbes Frechette Fulton Grafftey Grills Gundlock Hales Hamilton (Notre Dame de Grace)

Hanbidge Harkness Hees Henderson Hicks Hodgson Horner (Acadia) Horner (Jasper-Edson) Horner (The Battlefords) Howe Johnson Jones Jorgenson Kennedy Kindt Knowles Korchinski Kucherepa Lafreniere Lahave Lambert Latour Legere

Lennard

Letourneau

Macdonnell

MacInnis

MacLellan

Macdonald (Kings)

MacLean (Queens)

Macquarrie McCleave McDonald (Hamilton South) McGee

McGrath McGregor McIntosh McLennan McPhillips McQuillan Maloney Martineau Martini Matthews

Monteith (Perth) Monteith (Verdun) Montgomery More Morris Morton

Muir (Cape Breton North and Victoria) Muir (Lisgar) Nasserden Nielsen Noble Nugent O'Hurley O'Leary Ormiston Pallett Parizeau Pascoe Paul Phillips Pratt Pugh Rapp

Ricard Richard (Kamouraska)

Regnier

Robinson Rogers Rompre Rynard Sevigny Simpson Skoreyko Slogan Small Smallwood Smith (Lincoln) Smith (Simcoe North) Southam Speakman

Starr Stearns Stefanson Stewart Tassé Taylor Thomas Thrasher Valade Villeneuve Vivian Walker Webb Weichel White Winkler Woolliams Wratten-163.

Mr. Speaker: I declare the amendment lost. The question is now on the main motion.