year a small office was also opened in Geneva, the European head-quarters of the world body. In view of the increasing responsibilities Canada has assumed in the organization since that time (e.g., Palestine truce supervision, the UN Military Observer Group in India and Pakistan, the United Nations Emergency Force, the United Nations Operation in the Congo, and other UN undertakings), both these offices, now called permanent missions, have been expanded.

Canada was one of the founding members of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization in 1949, and has played an active role in it. In May 1952, on the establishment of the North Atlantic Council, a Canadian Permanent Delegation was set up in Paris to represent Canada's NATO interests. When, in October 1967, the headquarters of the NAC moved to Brussels, the Canadian Delegation moved with it. Canada maintains in Paris a Permanent Delegation to the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development. In addition to representing Canada on these permanent international bodies and their various committees, officials of the Department of External Affairs have been members of Canadian delegations at a large number of international conferences in recent years.

## Kinds and numbers of missions

Today, Canada conducts its external relations with some 125 countries through the following channels:

- (a) Embassies in: Algeria, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Cameroon, Chile, People's Republic of China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Egypt, Ethiopia, Finland, France, the Federal Republic of Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, the Holy See, Hungary, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Ivory Coast, Japan, Republic of Korea, Lebanon, Mexico, Morocco, the Netherlands, Norway, Pakistan, Peru, the Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, the United States of America, Venezuela, Yugoslavia, Zaire;
- (b) Non-resident ambassadors to: Afghanistan, Bahrein, the People's Republic of Benin, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Burma, Burundi, the Central African Republic, Chad, the People's Republic of the Congo, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Gabon, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Honduras, Iceland, Jordan, Kuwait, Laos,