## B. Corporate Structure

The Expo 86 Corporation, a British Columbia Crown corporation, was established by the Expo 86 Corporation Act in February, 1981.

The Expo 86 Corporation was responsible for theme pavilions and plazas, on-site restaurants, merchandising buildings, theatres, small ancillary buildings such as the bandstands, information booths and centres, lottery booths, post offices, main gates, the marine gate, ferry docks, monorail stations, dog kennels, employee and performers' lounges, shipbuilding and aircraft building demonstration areas.

Expo 86 provided modular pavilions for its international and state participants. Provinces, territories and corporate participants were responsible for the financing, design and construction of their own pavilions and exhibits.

The Expo 86 Corporation (as of October 13, 1986) consisted of the following divisions: Communications and Marketing (Note that Marketing was a separate division from January 1983 to June 1986); Construction Division; Entertainment Division; Executive Division; Finance and Administration Division; Operations Division; Participants Division.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS (As of October 13, 1986)

EXPO 86 was organized with a board of 14 directors, three of whom are nominated by the Government of Canada, nine by British Columbia and two by the City of Vancouver. The board, under the chairmanship of Jim Pattison, was appointed by the provincial government and reported to the Minister responsible for EXPO 86, the Honourable Claude Richmond.

## BOARD MEMBERS

Jim Pattison (Chairman and President, Expo 86 Corporation; Chairman, Board of Directors, B.C. Place Ltd.), President, The Jim Pattison Group

Walter R. Badun, Chairman, Penreal Advisors Ltd.

H. Clark Bentall, Chairman of the Board, The Bentall Group

Peter M. Brown, President, Canarim Investment Corp.

Herb P. Capozzi, Director, Capozzi Enterprises

Raymond Dagg, President and General Manager, Target Media Inc.

Don M.E. Hamilton, President, General Communications Corporation Limited

Lucille M. Johnstone, President and Chief Operating Officer, Rivtow Straits Limited