## The Legislative Branch.

z. The Sovereign.

sk

172.

old nd

n-

he

ice

ief

12.

ca,

es,

ch

art

01

es

of nt he ch

ts

er he in re is

- 2. The House of Lords:—This body consists of 576 members at present, known as Lords Spiritual (Archbishops and Bishops), and Lords Temporal (Dukes, Marquises, Earls, Viscounts and Barons). Scotland is represented by 16 peers chosen for each Parliament; Ireland by 28 life peers. The Lords hold their seats for life, as a rule, the older peerages being hereditary. No Money Bill can be introduced or amended in the House of Lords; but under exceptional conditions it may be rejected as a whole. In other respects the powers of the two Houses of Parliament are similar.
- 3. The House of Commons:—This body consists of 670 members elected by the people for the term of seven years. They are distributed as follows:

England .			 		465	members
Ireland			 		103	**
Scotland			 		72	
Wales	•••••	• • • • • •	 	• • • • • • •	30	. KO
Total	5		 		670	

The officers, rules and duties of the House of Commons are the same as those of the Canadian House of Commons, the latter having been moulded after the British body.

## The Judicial Branch.

In England and other parts of the United Kingdom, there are different law courts varying in name and jurisdiction. The highest court in the Empire is the British Privy Council.