Garland

MacKenzie

MacNaught

McCann

Emergency Powers Act

continued as set out in the bill before the house, why should it not be for only one year?

Mr. St. Laurent: It is only for one year.

Mr. Green: No. The provision is that it may be extended for a further year simply by an address to both houses, which means that there can be no questioning but merely set speeches in one debate.

Mr. St. Laurent: I am sure there would be no objection, if that were satisfactory to the house. What we feel is that the legislation should be in existence; but there are sufficiently frequent sessions of parliament to renew it from year to year as long as it may have to be in existence. If it were more satisfactory to have it only for one year, without any statement about how it can be further continued, there would be no objection. That is a matter of form and procedure that can be dealt with. But I understand that the real objection is to its existence at all beyond May 31, 1953.

Mr. Green: That is right.

Mr. St. Laurent: That is the real objection. We have given, perhaps, not reasons but just fears; and there have been newspapers which have said that this is just the result of fear. It is. It is just the result of fear that makes us recommend these huge appropriations for our defence services. Perhaps we are too fearful, but most of us prefer to continue even though the inspiration may be fear of what might happen, though that is coupled with the hope that it will not happen.

The house divided on the motion (Mr. Garson, for Mr. St. Laurent) which was agreed to on the following division:

YEAS Messrs:

Applewhaite Arsenault Ashbourne Balcom Bater Beaudoin Benidickson Bennett Black (Chateauguay-Huntingdon-Laprairie) Blue Boisvert Bonnier Boucher Bourque Bradette Bradley Breton Brisson Bruneau Byrne Campney Cardin Carroll

[Mr. Green.]

Carter Claxton Cleaver Cote (St. Jean-Iberville-Napierville) Cote (Verdun-La Salle) Crestohl Croll Cruickshank Dechene Decore Denis Deslieres Dewar Dickey Dumas Dupuis Eudes Eyre Ferrie Follwell Fournier (Hull) Fulford Gardiner

Garson Gauthier (Portneuf) Gauthier (Sudbury) George Gibson Gingras Gingues Gour (Russell) Gregg Harris Harrison Healy Helme Henderson Henry Hetland Hosking Huffman Hunter Jutras Kickham Kirk (Antigonish-Guysborough) Kirk (Digby-Yarmouth) LaCroix Lafontaine Laing Langlois (Gaspe) Lapointe Larson Lefrancois Leger Lesage Little Macdonald (Edmonton East) MacDougall

McCulloch McCusker McIvor McWilliam Major Maltais Martin Masse Monette Mott Murray (Oxford) Mutch Nadon Nixon Picard Pouliot Proudfoot Prudham Riley Roberge Rochefort Rousseau St. Laurent Schneider Simmons Sinclair Sinnott Smith (Moose Mountain) Smith (Queens-Shelburne) Stick Stuart (Charlotte) Tremblay Valois Ward Weir Welbourn Whiteside Whitman Winters Wood-125.

NAYS

Messrs:

Adamson Hees Herridge Argue Balcer Higgins Beyerstein Hodgson Black (Cumberland) Johnston Blackmore Knowles Blair Lennard Brooks Low Browne (St. John's West) Macdonnell (Greenwood) Bryce MacInnis Cardiff MacLean (Queens) Casselman McGregor Catherwood McLure Charlton Montgomery Churchill Murphy Coldwell Nickle Coyle Pearkes Dinsdale Quelch Drew Robichaud Fair Ross (Souris) Fairclough, Mrs. Rowe Ferguson Shaw Fleming Spence Fraser Starr Gillis Thatcher Graydon Thomas Green Tustin Hansell White (Hastings-Harkness Peterborough)-57.

Bill read the second time and the house went into committee thereon, Mr. Beaudoin in the chair.