continued from page four

cartoons make up in historical detail what they lack in linear brevity. John Macdonald, Canada's first Prime Minister, appears in many, with an inevitable emphasis on his nose.

A Vision of Canada, Clarke, Irwin & Co. Ltd., \$13.50. Canada's first and most famous collection of modern artists presented a united front to the world shortly after World War I. They were known as The Group of Seven. They appeared at a joint show at the Art Gallery of Toronto in May, 1920. They were Franklin Carmichael, Lawren Harris, A. Y. Jackson, Frank Johnston, Arthur Lismer, J. E. H. MacDonald and Frederick H. Varley. Frank Johnston soon resigned and was replaced by A. J. Casson in 1926. Edwin Holgate became the eighth member of the "Seven" in 1930 and LeMoine FitzGerald became a kind of ex post facto member in 1932, a year after the last Group show. The ticking off of the members is further confused since Tom Thomson, closely associated with the founding Seven, died before The Group was formally begun and was not therefore a charter member. Artists need not be particularly precise in addition and subtraction, and The Group within all its boundaries brought new and vivid reality to the grandeur of Canada's air and space, lakes and forests.

Robert and Signe McMichael grew up separately admiring the work of Tom Thomson and The Group, and in 1953 they acquired Thomson's Pine Island and began their magnificent collection of Canadian works. A year later they began construction of their rambling gallery on the outskirts of Kleinburg, Ontario. The McMichael Canadian Collection is the source of this book, which has an illuminating text by Paul Duval and which was designed by A. J. Casson, the youngest member of The Group.

Four Decades, The Canadian Group of Painters and Their Contemporaries, 1930-1970, by Paul Duval, Clarke, Irwin & Co., Ltd., \$24.95. Inertia is the death of art, even organizational inertia. The Group of Seven held its last show in 1931 and soon disbanded. In 1933 the surviving members (J. E. H. MacDonald had died in 1932) came together again in a more broadly-based society called The Canadian Group of Painters. The twenty-eight founding members held their first show in Atlantic City in the summer of 1933 and their first Canadian show in Toronto in November of the same year. The new Group would move away from the first Group's emphasis on landscape and it would prove longer-lived, lasting more than thirty-six years. In addition to the founding and other members of the defunct Group of Seven, the new Group included Bertram Brooker, Emily Carr, Charles Comfort, Prudence Heward, Randolph Hewton, Bess Housser, J. W. G. Macdonald, Thoreau MacDonald, Mabel May, Yvonne McKague, Isabel McLaughlin, Lilias Newton, Will Ogilvie, George Pepper, Sarah Robertson, Albert Robinson, Anne Savage, Charles Scott, William Weston and W. J. Wood.

This newsletter is published monthly except July and August. The views expressed are not necessarily those of the Canadian Government. Unless specifically noted, articles are not copyrighted and may be reproduced. If you have questions or comments on these or other Canadian subjects, please be in touch. Address and telephone number below.



The Canadian Embassy Office of Information 1771 N Street, NW Washington, DC 20036 202: 785-1400

Return Requested



BULK RATE U.S. POSTAGE P A I D BALTIMORE, MD. PERMIT NO. 1167

