Then the Honorable Mr. DeBlois took and subscribed the Oath prescribed by Law, which was administered by Edouard Joseph Langevin, Esquire, a Commissioner

appointed for that purpose, and took his seat accordingly.

The Honorable the Speaker acquainted the House, that the Clerk of the Senate had laid upon the Table the Certificate of one of the Commissioners, setting forth that the Honorable Pierre Antoine De Blois, a Member of the Senate, had made and subscribed the Declaration of Qualification required by the British North America Act,

On motion of the Honorable Sir Alexander Campbell, seconded by the Honorable

Resolved, That the Honorable Messieurs Alexander, Allan, Almon, Baillargeon, Bellerose, Boucherville de, Bourinot, Campbell (Sir Alexander), Chapais, Haythorne, Masson, Montgomery, O'Donohoe, Odell, Power, Ryan, Scott, Stevens, Trudel and Wark, be appointed a Committee to assist His Honor the Speaker in the direction of the Library of Parliament, so far as the interests of this House are concerned, and to act on behalf of this House as members of a Joint Committee of both Houses on the Library.

Ordered, That the said Resolution be communicated to the House of Commons.

by one of the Masters in Chancery.

On motion of the Honorable Sir Alexander Campbell, seconded by the Honorable

Mr. Ryan, it was

Resolved, That the Honorable Messieurs Cochrane, Ferrier, Guevremont, Haythorne, Kaulbach, McClelan, Macfarlane, Northwood, O'Donohoe, Ogilvie, Pelletier, Simpson, Skead, Vidal and Wark, be appointed a Committee to superintend the Printing of this House during the present Session, and be instructed to act on behalf of this House with the Committee of the House of Commons, as a Joint Committee of both Houses on the subject of Printing.

Ordered, That the said Resolution be communicated to the House of Commons

by one of the Masters in Chancery.

On motion of the Honorable Sir Alexander Campbell, seconded by the Honorable

Mr. Ryan, it was

Ordered, That the Honorable Messieurs Allan, Archibald, Bellerose, Benson, Botsford, Boucherville de, Boyd, Campbell (Sir Alexanaer), Carvell, Chapais, Cochrane, Ferrier, Gibbs, Hamilton, Lewin, McInnes, McMaster, Miller, Odell, Paquet, Pelletier, Plumb, Ryan, Simpson, Skead, Smith, Thibaudeau, Trudel, Vidal, and Wark, be appointed. pointed a Committee on Banking and Commerce for the present Session, to whom shall be referred all Bills on these subjects.

On motion of the Honorable Sir Alexander Campbell, seconded by the Honorable

Mr. Ryan, it was

Ordered, That the Honorable Messieurs Alexander, Allan, Boucherville de, Boyd, Campbell (Sir Alexander), Chapais, Dickey, Ferguson, Ferrier, Gibbs, Hamilton, Kaulbach, Leonard, MacInnes, of Hamilton, McKay, Macdonald, Montgomery, Muirhead, Nelson, Ogilvie, Paquet, Plumb, Power, Ryan, Scott, Skead, Stevens, Sutherland, and Vidal, be appointed a Committee on Railways, Telegraphs and Harbors for the present Session, to whom shall be referred all Bills on these subjects.

On motion of the Honorable Sir Alexander Campbell, seconded by the Honorable

Mr. Ryan, it was

Ordered, That the Honorable Messieurs Almon, Archibald, Armand, Bellerose, Botsford, Bourinot, Boyd, Campbell (Sir. Alexander), Carvell, DeBlois, Dever, Dickson, Ferrier, Flint, Girard, Glasier, Grant, Guévremont, Haythorne, Howlan, McInnes, McKay, Macfarlane, Masson, Miller, Montgomery, Nelson, Odell, Ogilvie, Paquet,