## MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

THURSDAY, March 26, 1953

The Special Committee on Broadcasting met at 10.30 o'clock a.m. this day.

Members present: Messrs. Boisvert, Breton, Carter, Decore, Dinsdale, Fleming, Gauthier (Portneuf), Gauthier (Sudbury), Henry, Jones, Kirk (Digby-Yarmouth), MacLean (Queens), McCann, Richard (Ottawa East), Riley, Robinson, Smith (Moose Mountain), and Whitman.

On motion of Mr. Whitman, seconded by Mr. Decore, Resolved,—That Mr. Robinson be Chairman of the Committee.

Mr. Robinson thanked the Committee and read the Orders of Reference.

On motion of Mr. Whitman, seconded by Mr. Decore,

Resolved,—That Mr. Gauthier (Portneuf) be Vice-Chairman of the Committee.

On motion of Mr. Decore,

Resolved,—That a recommendation be made to the House to reduce the quorum from 14 to 9 members.

On motion of Mr. Gauthier (Sudbury),

Ordered,—That, pursuant to its Order of Reference, the Committee print from day to day, 700 copies in English and 300 copies in French of its Minutes of Proceedings and Evidence.

Agreed,—That Mr. A. Davidson Dunton, Chairman of the C.B.C. Board of Governors, be heard at the next meeting; and that the planning of further proceedings be referred to a sub-committee on Agenda and Procedure comprised of the Chairman and 6 members to be named by him.

At 10.55 o'clock a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

WEDNESDAY, April 8, 1953

The Special Committee on Broadcasting met at 11.00 o'clock a.m. this day. The Chairman, Mr. W. A. Robinson, presided.

Members present: Messrs. Beaudry, Boisvert, Carter, Coldwell, Fleming, Gauthier (Portneuf), Gauthier (Sudbury), Hansell, Jones, MacLean (Queens), Mutch, Robinson and Smith (Moose Mountain).

In attendance: From the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation: Messrs. A. Davidson Dunton, Chairman of the Board of Governors, Donald Manson, Special Consultant, E. L. Bushnell, Assistant General Manager, H. Bramah, Treasurer, Geo. Young, Director of Station Relations, R. C. Fraser, Director of Press and Information, P. E. Meggs, Supervisor of Information, R. E. Keddy, Secretary, Board of Governors and J. A. Halbert.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of the 1951-52 annual report of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.