8. ANNEX

Opening of the 37th Parliament

Results of the November 27th, 2000 General Election

Liberal Party	Prime Minister Jean Chrétien	172 seats
Canadian Alliance	Official Opposition Leader Stockwell Day	66 seats
Bloc Québécois	Party Leader Gilles Duceppe	38 seats
New Democratic Party	Party Leader Alexa McDonough	13 seats
Progressive Conservatives	Party Leader Joe Clark	12 seats

47 new Members of Parliament were elected and 253 Members were re-elected to serve in the House of Commons.

The Members of the 37th Parliament will convene for the first time on January 29th, 2001.

Election of the Speaker of the House of Commons

The first item of business is the election by secret ballot of the Speaker of the House of Commons (previously the Honourable Mr. Gilbert Parent). No other business can proceed until the election of the Speaker has been completed.

Following the election of the Speaker, which often proceeds to multiple ballots, the House will adjourn until the following day, January 30th, 2001, for the Speech from the Throne and the official opening of Parliament.

The Speech from the Throne

The Speech from the Throne is delivered by the Governor General, Adrienne Clarkson, and it officially opens Parliament. Prior to the Speech from the Throne neither the House of Commons, nor the Senate can embark on any public business. The Speech details the Government's view of the country, the main issues and agenda of the coming session, and provides some indication of the legislation that will be brought forward by the Government.

Cabinet Ministers

During the dissolution of Parliament and following the election, Cabinet Ministers retain their role and title. Cabinet Ministers are not directly affected by elections as they hold a Ministry which is appointed by the Crown. Although most often the case, it is not necessary that Cabinet Ministers be elected officials. Ministers who loose their seats as a result of an election remain Cabinet Ministers until the Prime Minister appoints replacements.

On January 09/20001, the Prime Minister announced the appointment of three new Cabinet Ministers to replace those who lost their seats in the November 2000 election:

New Cabinet Mi	nister Ministry	Predecessor
Rey Pagtakhan	Secretary of State - Asia Pacific	Raymond Chan
Sharon Carstairs	Leader of the Government in the Senate	Senator Boudreau
Robert Thibault	Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency	George Baker