FARMER'S ADVOCATE.

Agricultural and Horticultural Society of London.

The annual meeting of this Society was held on Tuesday the 19th instant and was well attended. The annual report was read, exhibiting a favorable condition of affairs. After meeting all expenses, there is a balance in hand of \$837 75. The management has been most efficient, reflecting credit on the office bearers. The election of officers for the current year, was then proceeded with and the following gentlemen elected.

President-Jas Johnson.

1st. Vice-President-Mr. Jas. Cousins. 2nd Vice President-Mr. Jas. Durand. Treasurer-Mr. John Stewart, re-elected.

Secretary-Mr. Wm. McBride, re-elected.

Directors—Messrs. J. Campbell, E. Glack-meyer, W. Saunders, W. Bissell, W. Barker, Charles Andrus, Jno. Christie (Mayor), H. Fysh, and John Elliott.

Mr. Cousins moved that Mr. Johnson be the representative of this society at the Board of Agriculture for 1869. Carried.

Messrs. E. J. Collett and W. Dempster were appointed auditors.

COBOURG HORTICULTURAL SOCIETY .- The regular meeting of this Society, for the election of officers, &c., was held in the Council Chamber on the 15th ult., when the following gentlemen were elected office bearers for the current year,

E. A. McNachtan-President. David Brodie-Secretary.

We are pleased to learn that the Society is in

a very flourishing condition, there being a handsome balance in the Treasurer's hands.

A Horticultural Society has been formed in Goderich. The officers are A.M.Ross, President, John Hunter, Vice President, P. Adamson, Secretary. Mr. Crabb has given a room rent free for the Society to meet in. May they prosper.

OFFICERS ELECT.

We present this month the names of the Presidents and Secretaries of the different agricultural Societies that have reached us. The list will be continued as we are able to glean the desired information:

West Gurafraxa-R. J. Black, President, F. Cassidy, Secretary.

Arthur-W. White, Pres., J. Isles Sec. Welles'ey-John Wilson, President, Geo Oakley, Sec.

Biddulph-R. Smith, President, James Dagg, Secretary.

Logan-Jas. Sills, Pres., T. Covenney, Sec. Markham-James Eckwardt, President, Jas. Speight, Secretary.

Thorold—Jacob Gainlo, President, Robert Spencer, Secretary.

Hamilton—John Cullis, President, Richard Cullis Secretary

Eramosa-John Grieve, President, Wm. Tolton, Secretary.

Reach-Mr. Graham, President, J. Christie, Secretary.

Beverly-Wm. Henderson, President, Jas. Bishop, Secretary.

Darlington - George Mitchell, President, R. Windatt, Secretary.

Haldimand-W. H. Wickett, President. Vesper-Jno. Darby, Pres., G. Sneath, Sec. Cavan-W. H. Russell, President, J. W. Southeran, Secretary.

West York-J. P. Bull, President, B. Bull, Secretary.

Huron-H. Snell, (President, S. Malcomson, Secretary.

Paisley-James Houston, President, M. McNamara, Secretary.

Ottawa — J. B. Lewis, President, A. S. Woodburn, Secretary.

Wallace and Elma—W. Lochhead, President, J. C. Tilt, Sec. North Ontario-George Wheeler, President

John Christie, Secretary. Luther—W. White, President, J. Isles, Sec. Kincardine-Wm. Miller, President, Dr.

Thos. Bradley, Sec. Bosanquet—Wm. Hollingshead, President, John McGregor, Sec.

East Gwillimbury—J. Lundy, President, A. J. Hughes, Secretary.

Erin-A McMillan, Pres., J. W. Burt, Sec. West Hastings-G. Gilbert, President, S.D. Farley, Secretary.

East Middlesex-John Wheaton, President, H. Anderson, Sec.

West Flamboro-Thos. Bain, Pres., Chas. Durant, Sec.

Paris-C. Whitlaw, President, H. Hart, Sec. Matilda-T. Rose, Pres, H. Harkness, Sec. Burford.—D. G. Hanmer, President, J. Bingham, Sec.

Haldimand-D. Thompson, President, J. Young, Sec.

St. Catherines-Wm. Eccles, President, F. W. Macdonald, Secretary.

Cramahe-E. H. Black, President, Wm. Easton, Secretary. Tuckersmith - R. Govenlock, President,

Wm. McConnell, Sec. North York—F. Smith, President, E. Jackson, Secretary.

Uxbridge—S. Widdifield, President, T. Todd, Secretary.

South Ontario-J. Shier, Pres. @ Robson, Secretary. North Simcoe-J. Ross, Pres., J. Thomas,

Secretary. Stamford—G. Hyatt, Pres., J. A. Law, Sec.

Guelph—A. Hogge, Pres., G. Murton, Sec. Georgiana-J. Marrett, Pres. H. Ego, Sec. Halton-A. Campbell, President, W. C. Beatty, Secretary.

Sydenham—D. McDowall, President, Chas. Gordon, Secretary. Willoughby-E. Shainboldts, President, J.

McCredie, Secretary. South Wellington-T. McCrae, President,

G. Murton, Sec.

Minto-J. Praine, President, H. Meikle john, Secretary.

West Northumberland—G. Bennett, Presi dent, C. Bourn, Sec.

Bruce—D. Brown, Pres., Wm. Scott, Sec. Turnbarry-F. W. Irwin, President, Wm. Anderson, Sec.

Brock-J. Hart, Pres., H. Glendinning, Sec. Pittsburg-J. G. Strachan, President, R. J. Milton, Secretary.

Scott-G. Thompson, Pres., H. Turner, Sec. Durham-P. Falle, President, R. T. Wil-

liams, Secretary.

Adelaide—F. Petch, Pres., A. Preston, Sec.
Derby—L. Beaton, Pres., Wm. Beaton, Sec. Oxford North-H. Parker, President, R. W. Sawtell, Secretary.

Kingston-J. H. Allen, Pres., A. G. Briggs, Secretary. South Perth-J. H. Gould, President, W. W.

Ford, Secretary. South Brant-H: McEwen, President, D.

McKay, Secretary. Harwich—Wm. Clarke, President, W. R. Fellows, Secretary.

Cardwell—G McManus, Pres., J. Allen, Sec. Lambton-H. Rawlings, Pres., E. Watson, Secretary.

South Victoria-J. Connolly, President, W. J. Thirkell, Secretary.

Kent-G, Young, President, R. Lowe Secretary Niagara-W. Kirby, President, H. Servas, Sec. South Simcoe-Dr. Morton, President, W. M. Stevenson, Secretary.

Ameliasburgh-L. B. Stinson, President, S. P. Niles, Secretary.

North Simcoc-J. Ross, President, J. Thomas, Secretary.

Addington-S. Shibley, President, J. B. Aylsworth, Secretary.

Lennox-Dr. Bristol, President, C. Jaines, Sec West Durham-I. B. Lovekin, President, R. Windate, Secretary.

South Norfolk-J. Coveston President, H. W. Smith, Secretary.

Huron-David Henderson, President, T. Wilson, Secretary.

WEST MIDDLESEX AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY,-At the annual meeting of this Society held at Strathroy on Wednesday last, the following officers were appointed:—President, G. McGugan and G. Buttery. Sec. and Treas., James Keefer, Esq. Directors, Messrs. Jno. Campbell, M. Campbell, Thos. Moyle, T. Hughes, Wm. Buttery, A. Carmichael, S. Stevens, John Henderson, and W. H. Armstrong. L. E. Shipley, Esq., was nominated as a Councillor to represent this electoral division in the Provincial Board of Agricul

South Huron Agricultural Society.—The annual meeting of this society took place at Brucefield on Tucsday the 19th inst. The President, Jas. Dickson, Esq., in the chair.

Moved by Dr. Coleman, seconded by Jas. Bell, that James Dickson, Esq., be our President for the current year.—Carried unani-Hugh Love, Son., Esq., was re-appointed

Secretary. Robt. Gibbons, Esq., was appointed member of the Council of Agriculture.

It was agreed to hold the next Fall Show at Seaforth.

How ARE YOU RECIPROCITY ?-At the port of Buffalo alone a vast amount of business has been transacted during the last year. The exports to Canada amounted to \$300,000 while the imports from the Province of Ontario amounted to \$3,000,000. Who pays the duty?

The second Monthly Cattle Fair held lately at Paris did not come up to expectations. A large quantity of excellent stock was exhibited, but few buyers were present. There was among the sales one car load of sheep for Buffalo.