

(L-R) S/Sgt. George Wool presents Cpl. Barry Kutryk with a farewell gift.



The Alaska State Trooper Team...

PISTOL COMPETITION The 19th Annual RCMP/AST pistol competition for the Capital Hotel Trophy was held at Anchorage on the Airport Range, Saturday, September 22, 1979. The Alaska Troopers emerged the winners, with an aggregate score of 5605-182X to the RCMP 5569-190X. Individual High Aggregate was won by Cst. B. D. Ross, RCMP, Whitehorse, with 1143-48X; High RCMP Course by Captain R. Penman, AST, Anchorage, with 571-23X; High AST Course by Cst. B. D. Ross, RCMP, Whitehorse, with 585-26X; High RCMP on RCMP Course by Cpl. P. N. Veres, RCMP, Whitehorse, with 563-15X; and High AST on AST Course by Investigator J. Smith, AST, Anchorage, with 579-26X.

The RCMP team was made up of ex-Cst. Dennis R. Clarke (team coach), Sgt. Ken C. Gabb, Cpls. P. Nick Veres and Rod A. O'Brien, Cst. Brian D. Ross, from Whitehorse; and Cst. Peter J. Thompson, from Old Crow. The AST Team was made up of Captain Harcourt Tew (team coordinator), from Palmer, Alaska; Captain Robert Penman, Sgt. Bruce Cole, Investigator Jerry Smith, from Anchorage; Investigator Mark Stewart, from Palmer and Trooper Jeff Hall, from Anchorage.

The fourth VIP Shoot was also held on this date, with Commissioner Bill Nix of



 \dots and the RCMP Pistol Competition Team on the firing line.