## Standing Committees

Moreover, it is quite true that the status of a party as far as the allowances payable to the leader of a party are concerned—and the House itself passed the legislation and decided that to be entitled to a special allowance, the leader should have at least 11 members in his group excluding himself; that is, 12. However, I feel that it has nothing to do with our duties in the House as a recognized, registered national party.

It is in such capacity, Mr. Speaker, that we are asking to be allowed to name a representative to that committee. It would not hurt anyone, because we all agree that the matter is unimportant. We would then continue to work and bring our contribution to that committee and, strictly speaking, I do not think that it would hurt anyone.

Now, Mr. Speaker, if we consider that the motion is a basic one which could affect the status of our party, I think that we are going beyond the scope of the proposed amendment. In my opinion, the question should not even be raised. It is a mere technical matter and of course when we disagree, the question is then put. Such is democracy. This is why an election is held, because we do not share the same views.

When the members of this House disagree, they ask, of course, that the question be put. If we are not allowed to have a representative on that striking committee, the matter will be settled. As for other issues which could arise later, they will be dealt with in due course.

Mr. Speaker, I leave it to you to decide whether the motion is really in order and if we should deal with it right now or if you would rather wait to make a decision. We leave it to your discretion.

# [English]

Hon. Walter Baker (President of the Privy Council and Minister of National Revenue): Mr. Speaker, I do not intend to prolong the discussion in the House, but I do say that there is here an important matter of principle at stake. The original motion was framed with that in mind. The hon. member for Cape Breton Highlands-Canso (Mr. MacEachen) and the hon. member for Winnipeg North Centre (Mr. Knowles) have set out, I believe, the principles quite clearly. They do not need to be repeated. In that sense it is clear, as the government House leader, that I ought to indicate to the House that, based on the principle that is involved, we do not intend to support the amendment.

Mr. Speaker: The question is on the amendment to the main motion. All those in favour of the amendment, please say yea.

### **(1700)**

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed, please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion, the nays have it. And more than five members having risen: [Mr. Lambert (Bellechasse).]

Mr. Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the amendment (Mr. Roy (Beauce)), which was negatived on the following division:

# (Division No. 1)

	Messrs.	
Allard Caouette Gauthier (Roberval)	Lambert (Bellechasse) Peters	Roy (Beauce)—
	NAYS	

	NAYS
	Messrs.
Alexander	Dionne
Andre	(Northumberland-
(Calgary Centre)	Miramichi)
Appolloni	Domm
(Mrs.)	Duclos
Atkey	Dupont
Axworthy	Duquet
Baker	Elliott
(Nepean-Carleton)	Ellis
Beattie	Elzinga
(Hamilton Mountain)	Ерр
Beatty	Evans
(Wellington-Dufferin-Simcoe)	Faour
Bégin (Miss)	Fennell
Benjamin	Ferguson
Berger	Fish
Binks	Fleming
Blaikie	Flis
Blais	Forrestall
Blaker	Foster
Blenkarn	Fox
Bockstael	Fraleigh
Sosley	Fraser
Bradley	Fretz
Breau	Friesen
Brisco	Froese
Froadbent	Fulton
Bujold	Gamble
lussières	Gass
Caccia	Gauthier
ameron	(Ottawa-Vanier)
ampbell	Gendron
(Sarnia)	Gilchrist
henier	Gourd
hrétien	Grafftey
lark	Graham
(Yellowhead)	Gray
larke	Greenaway
(Vancouver Quadra)	Guay
omtois	Guilbault
ook	Gurbin
ooper	Gustafson
orbett	Haliburton
orbin	Halliday
orriveau	Hamilton
onsitt	(0.14 11.14

Campbell	Gendron
(Sarnia)	Gilchrist
Chenier	Gourd
Chrétien	Grafftey
Clark	Graham
(Yellowhead)	Gray
Clarke	Greenaway
(Vancouver Quadra)	Guay
Comtois	Guilbault
Cook	Gurbin
Cooper	Gustafson
Corbett	Haliburton
Corbin	Halliday
Corriveau	Hamilton
Cossitt	(Qu'Appelle-Moose
Cousineau	Mountain)
Crombie	Hamilton
Crosbie	(Swift Current-Mapl
(St. John's West) Creek)	
Crosby	Hargrave
(Halifax West)	Harquail
Crouse	Hawkes
Cyr	Hees
Darling	Herbert
Daudlin	Hervieux-Payette (Mrs.
Dawson	Higson
De Bané	Hnatyshyn
de Corneille	Hogan
de Jong	Holmes
Demers	Hopkins
Deniger	Howie
Desmarais	Huntington
Dick	Isabelle

Ittinuar

Jarvis (Willowdale)

(Perth)

(Portneuf)

Dionne (Chicoutimi)

Jewett (Miss)
Johnston
Jupp
Kaplan
Kempling
Kilgour
Killens (Mrs.)
King
Knowles
Korchinski
Kushner
Lachance
Lajoie
Lalonde
Lambert
(Edmonton West)
Lane
Lapierre
Lapointe
La Salle
Lawrence
LeBlanc
Leduc
Lefebvre
Lessard
Lewis
Loiselle
Lumley
MacDonald
(Egmont)
MacDonald (Miss)
(Kingston and the Islands)
MacDonald (Cordinar)
(Cardigan) MacEachen
MacKay
MacLaren
MacLellan
Malépart
Malone
Maltais
Marceau
Massé
Mayer
Mazankowski
McCain
McCain McCauley
McCrossan
McCuish
McDermid
McGrath
McKenzie
McKinley
McKinnon
McKnight
McLean
McMillan
McRae

Miller Mitchell (Mrs.)

Munro

Murphy

Murta

(Esquimalt-Saanich)

(Hamilton East)

Neil Nicholson (Miss)