A PROCLAMATION.

CANADA.

By the QUEEN.

A PROCLAMATION.

For uniting the Provinces of Canada, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick, into one Dominion, under the name of CANADA.

WHEREAS by an Act of Parliament, passed on the twenty-ninth day of March, one thousand eight hundred and sixty-seven, in the thirtieth year of Our reign, intitutled: "An Act for the Union of Canada, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, and the Government thereof and for purposes connected therewith," after divers recitals, it is enacted, "that it shall be lawful for the Queen, by and with the advice of Her Majesty's Most Honorable Privy Council, to declare, by Proclamation, that on and after a day therein appointed, not being more than six months after the passing of this Act, the Provinces of Canada, Nova Scotia and New Brunswic'r shall form and be One Dominion under the name of Canada, and on and after that day those Three Provinces shall form and be One Dominion under that name accordingly;" and it is thereby further enacted, "that Such Persons shall be first summoned to the Senate as the Queen by warrant, under Her Majesty's Royal Sign Manual, thinks fit to approve, and their names shall be inserted in the 'sueen's Proclamation of Union;" We, therefore, by and with the advice of Our Privy Council, have thought fit to issue this Our Royal Proclamation, and We do ordain, declare and command that on and after the first day of July, one thousand eight hundred and sixty-seven, the Provinces of Canada, Nova Sootia and New Brunswick shall form and be the Dominion under the name of Canada:

And We do further ordain and declare that the persons whose names are herein inserted and set forth are the persons of whom We have by Warrant under our Royal Sign Manual thought fit to approve as the persons who shall be first summoned to the Senate of Canada:

For the Province of Ontario.

John Hamilton. Rodedrick Matheson. John Ross. Samuel Mills. Benjamin Seymour. Walter Hamilton Dickson. James Shaw. Adam Johnson Fergusson Blair. Alexander Campbell. David Christie. James Cox Aikins. David Reesor. Eiijah Leonard. William MacMaster. Asa Allworth Burnham. John Simpson. James Skead. David Lewis Macpherson. George Crawford.

Donald Macdonald. Oliver Blake. Billa Flint. Walter McCrea. George William Allan.

For the Province of Quebec.

James Leslie. Asa Belknap Foster. Joseph Noël Bossé. Louis A. Oliver. Jacques Olivier Bureau. Charles Malhiot. Louis Renaud. Luc Letellier, de St. Just. Ulric Joseph Tessier. John Hamilton. Charles Cormier. Antoine Juchereau Duchesnay. David Edward Price. Elzear H. J. Duchesnay. Leandre Dumouchel. Louis Lacoste. Joseph F. Armand. Charles Wilson. William Henry Chaffers. Jean Baptiste Gouévremont. James Ferrier. Sir Narcisse Fortunat Belleau, Knight. Thomas Ryan. John Sewell Sanborn.

For the Province of Nova Scotia.

Edward Kenny. Jonathan McCully. Thomas D. Archibald. Robert B. Dickey. John H. Anderson. John Holmes. John W. Ritchie. Benjamin Wier. John Locke. Caleb R. Bili. John Bourinot. William Miller.

For the Province of New Brunswick.

Amos Edwin Botsford. Edwin Baron Chandler. John Robertson. Robert Leonard Hazen. William Hunter Odell. David Wark. William Henry Steeves. William Todd. John Ferguson. Robert Duncan Wilmot. Abner Reid McClelan. Peter Mitchell.

Given at our Court, at Windsor Castle, this twenty-second day of May. in the year of our Lord, one thousand eight hundred and sixty-seven, and in the thirtieth year of our reign.

GOD SAVE THE QUEEN.