Latitude, except the portions that are within the Yukon Territory, the Province of Quebec or the Province of Newfoundland, and,

(b) the islands in Hudson Bay, James Bay and Ungava Bay, except those islands that are within the Provinces of Ontario, Manitoba or Quebec.

The Northwest Territories are constituted under an Act of Parliament, which provides for a chief executive officer known as the Commissioner of the Northwest Territories to be appointed by the Governor in Council. The Commission administers the territorial government under instructions given from time to time by the Governor in Council, or the Minister of Indian and Northern Affairs, whose Department is responsible for the administration of the Territories.

There has been in recent years a tendency to transfer, where possible, administrative authority to the government of the Territories and now, in practice, all major policy decisions within territorial competence are taken on advice of the Legislative Council. Formerly the Legislative Council of the Territories was composed of both elected and appointed members. In 1974, the Northwest Territories Act was amended (S.C. 1974, c.5) to provide for a fully-elective Legislative Council consisting of 15 members elected to represent electoral districts throughout the Territories. Subject to earlier dissolution, the Council has a life of four years.

The Commissioner in Council may make ordinances for the government of the Territories respecting such matters as: direct taxation within the Territories in order to raise a revenue for territorial, municipal or local purposes; the establishment and tenure of territorial offices and the appointment and payment of territorial officers; municipal institutions in the Territories; licences; incorporation of companies with territorial objects (generally); the administration of justice in the Territories, including the constitution, maintenance and organization of territorial courts, both of civil and criminal jurisdiction, and including procedure in civil matters in those courts; the establishment, maintenance and management of prisons, gaols or lock-ups; education; public health; the expenditure of money for territorial purposes; and, generally, all matters of a merely local or private nature in the Territories.

The seat of territorial government is Yellowknife.

The Yukon Territory

As has been noted, the Yukon was created as a separate territory in