The policies of the CBC are based on principles laid down originally by Parliament as being in the best interests of the listening public. The policies themselves, and the way in which they are carried out, are examined critically from time to time by special Parliamentary committees. In this way there is a constant check on CBC operations. The listeners, by paying a licence fee, become shareholders in the national radio system and can control its operations through Parliament.

The CBC is not owned by the government, but by the people. It is not responsible to the government of the day, but to Parliament as whole.

Service to Listeners

The Board of Governors of the CBC has nine members who serve without salary for three years, and a full-time Chairman, A. Davidson Dunton, who is a salaried official. The members of the board are chosen to represent the various geographical divisions of Canada, and various facets of Canadian life. The board serves as the trustee of the national interest in broadcasting, and directs broadcasting policy as it applies to both CBC-owned and privately-owned stations.

The CBC operates all networks in Canada; the Trans-Canada and Dominion networks, serving English-speaking listeners from coast-to-coast, and the French network, serving French-speaking listeners in the province of Quebec.

Operations:

The networks are made up from 13 CBC-owned and 99 privately-owned stations located across Canada. The Trans-Canada
has a maximum outlet of 62 stations; the Dominion a maximum of
37; and the French network a maximum of 13. For occasional broadcasts of national interest the three networks are joined to form
the National network. In addition to these outlets, the CBC has
pioneered in the development of low-powered repeater stations, which
operate automatically with the network, in remote areas of Canada.
French-speaking listeners in northern Quebec and on the western
Prairies are served by shortwave stations, and another is used to
reach listeners in the northern coastal regions and interior of
British Columbia. A shortwave receiving station is maintained in
Ottawa. It will soon be expanded to enable it to take over operations formerly handled by receiving stations no longer in operation
at Dartmouth, N.S. and Toronto, Ontario. A shortwave receiving
station at Point Grey near Vancouver, B.C., is operated about two
days a week to monitor certain shortwave channels for the CBC
International Service.

As of September 1948 seven of the CBC's 13 stations are of the 50,000 watt variety. The Corporation has recently built two 50,000 watt stations in Alberta and Manitoba to improve service in the prairies, and one in Toronto to operate as the Dominion network's key station.

Frequency Modulation

The CBC has two FM stations in Montreal, and one in Toronto, Vancouver and Ottawa. It expects to have another FM station in Winnipeg shortly. The aim is to get FM programs on the air, and thus encourage the manufacture and sale of FM receiving sets.

The CBC has recommended to the Department of Transport that operators of present AM stations should be invited to start