49. The Town of Cornwall shall be comprised within its present Cornwall. 2 limits.

GENERAL PROVISIONS.

17

II. And be it enacted, that the Counties of Kamouraska, l'Islet, Number of 4 Bellechasse, Dorchester, Beauce, Nicolet, Sherbrooke, Richelieu, memory to returned for Saint Hyacinthe, Rouville, Chambly, Laprairie, Acadie, Beauhar-6 nois, Vaudreuil, Ottawa, Two Mountains, Montreal, Terrebonne, L.C. 75. Lachenaye, Assomption, Berthier, St. Maurice, and Portneuf, in 8 Lower-Canada, and the Counties of Glengarry, Carlton, Lanark, Grenville, Leeds, Frontenac, Prince-Edward, Hastings, Northum-10 berland, Durham, Simcoe, Halton, Wentworth, Waterloo, Elgin, Middlesex, Norfolk, Oxford, Welland, Lincoln, and each of the 12 four Ridings of the County of York in Upper-Canada, shall each be respectively represented by two Members in the Legislative Assembly 14 of this Province; the Counties of Gaspé, Bonaventure, Rimousky, Temiscouata, Lotbinière, Megantic, Drummond, Yamaska, Stan-16 stead, Shefford, Missiskoui, Verchères, Huntingdon, Argenteuil, Champlain, Quebec, Montmorency, and Saguenay, in Lower-18 Canada, and the Counties of Stormont, Prescott, Russell, Renfrew, Dundas, Lennox, Addington, Peterborough, Victoria, Wellington, 20 Brant, Perth, Lambton, Kent, Essex, and Haldimand, in Upper-Canada, cach, respectively by one Member; the Counties of Bagot 22 and Montagnais, in Lower-Canada, which shall be united for the purposes of this Act, by one Member for the two; the Counties of 24 Peel and Grey in Upper-Canada, which shall be united for the purposes of this Act, by one Member for the two; and the Counties 26 of Huron and Bruce in Upper-Canada, which shall be united for the purposes of this Act by one Member for the two; the Cities of 28 Quebec and Montreal, each, respectively, by three Members; the City of Toronto by two Members; and the Town of Three-Rivers, 30 with the Parish as hereinbefore defined, the Town of Sherbrooke, the City of Hamilton, the City of Kingston, the Town of Bytown, ³² the Town of London, the Town of Niagara, the Town of Brockville, and the Town of Cornwall, each, respectively by one Member ; 34 Provided always, that the qualifications of persons entitled to vote at Elections of Members in the said Counties, Ridings, Cities, and ³⁶ Towns, shall respectively remain as they now are, or as fixed by this Act, or as they may be fixed by any other Act passed during ³⁸ the present or any future Session; Provided also, that for all other purposes except those of this Act, the several Cities and Towns in 40 this Province, shall be considered as making part of the County or Riding in which they are situate, in all cases where it is not other-42 wise provided by law. III. And be it enacted, that the divisions of Counties, Ridings, 44 Cities and Towns in this Province, established for the purposes of

this Act, shall have their full and entire effect for all the purposes 46 thereof so soon as it shall come into force, but shall not in any manner

affect the divisions now existing for the purposes of the Administration

48 of Justice, of the Militin, of the Registration of deeds or other instruments, of Municipal or local affairs, or of any other matter

- 50 whatsoever, except only for the purposes of this Act, until it shall be otherwise provided by the Legislature; Provided always, that any
- 52 Act or Acts making provision for any of the matters aforesaid may be

members to be each place.

Proviso: Qualification of voters.

Proviso:

When and for what purpose the divisions ·hereby made shali tako cfiect.

Proviso.