## Government Orders

Landry Larrivée Leblanc (Longueuil) Littlechild Lopez MacDougall (Timiskar

MacDougall (Timiskaming)
Malone
Martin (Lincoln)
Mazankowski
McDougall (St. Paul's)
McLean

McDougall (St McLean Mitges Mulroney Oberle Plamondon Pronovost Reid Ricard Saint-Julien Scott (Victoria

Scott (Victoria – Haliburton) Shields Soetens

Soetens Stevenson Thacker Thorkelson Tremblay (Québec-Est) Turner (Halton – Peel) Van de Walle Vincent

Wilbee Assiniboia) Worthy—130 Langlois Layton Lewis Loiselle

MacDonald (Rosedale)

MacKay Marin Masse McCreath McKnight Merrithew Monteith Nicholson O'Kurley Porter Redway Reimer Richardson Schneider

Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth)

Sobeski Sparrow Tardif Thompson Tremblay (Rosemont) Tremblay (Lotbinière)

Valcourt Vézina White

Wilson (Swift Current - Maple Creek -

Winegard

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion lost.

Mr. Gauthier: Mr. Speaker, I rise on a point of order.

There is a long-standing tradition in the House that when a vote is being taken, members remain in their seats. I have been observing members from all sides of the House, but in particular on the government side, moving out. The member for Mississauga South moved out after being approached by the Deputy Whip.

An Hon. Member: That is right.

Mr. Gauthier: Maybe it was an emergency, but I wish members would not move around until we actually see what is going to happen around here. Stay in your places.

An Hon. Member: Wait until the vote and then go to the bathroom.

Mr. Riis: Mr. Speaker, I want to support my hon. friend's intervention. It became particularly problematic when the chairman of the finance committee left. It is obviously a reflection of how he plans to vote in the future. That is an encouraging sign.

Mr. Hawkes: Mr. Speaker, I want to assure the House that none of the members who moved, moved before the vote was counted. Or, if they did move—

Some Hon. Members: Oh, oh!

Mr. Hawkes: Other members moved at the conclusion of the previous vote and did not vote in the division just taken. It is unlike the behaviour of the opposition, where two New Democrats voted twice in the House on a single division not too long ago and members on that side came in after the motion and voted anyway.

Some Hon. Members: Oh, oh!

Mr. Speaker: Is the hon. member rising on the same point?

Mr. Boudria: Mr. Speaker, the member for Calgary North clearly left the House before the vote was announced by you. All members saw it. There are a number of others. I must challenge what the member across said because it is simply inaccurate.

Mr. Speaker: Could I have the attention of the House?

Beauchesne's *Parliamentary Rules and Forms*, fifth Edition, citation No. 223, paragraph 2, states very clearly:

A Member must be in his own seat should he wish to vote and should remain in his seat until the division is complete and the result announced.

I point out that that is a long-standing rule. There is no question about it. It is not for the Chair to intervene unless a point of order has been called. A point of order has been called. There is a reason for the rule. We are in a series of votes, but even if it was only one vote, the rule is to avoid confusion and to add to the efficacy of a democratic vote in this Chamber. I would ask all hon. members to co-operate.

Some Hon. Members: Hear, hear!

The next question is on Motion No. 14 standing in the name of hon. member for Yorkton—Melville.

The House divided on the motion, which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 221)

## YEAS

## Members

Althouse
Axworthy (Saskatoon—Clark's Crossing)
Black
Brewin
Edmonston
Pulton
Gardiner
Hovdebo
Karroff

Langan (Mission-Coquitlam)

Laporte

Angus Benjamin Blackburn (Brant) Butland Fisher Funk Harvey (Edmonton East) Hunter Kristiansen Langdon (Essex—Windsor) MacWilliam