of British Columbia. In addition to their general advisory task and their role in planning and co-ordinating university education, they have the mandate to review the universities' budget requests, to advise their governments on the total level of funding and to distribute to the universities the funds appropriated by government.

In Saskatchewan, two universities (Regina and Saskatchewan) deal directly with the Department of Advanced Education. Their intermediary between the government and the universities, the Saskatchewan Universities Commission, was abolished in 1983.

In Alberta there is also no intermediary body between government and the universities. Government planning for and co-ordination of higher education is the responsibility of the Department of Advanced Education and Manpower, which deals directly with the institutions regarding budgetary requirements and provincial grants.

The university sector consists of four institutions: The University of Alberta, which enrols about 21 000 full-time students; Calgary with some 14 000 students, Lethbridge with about 2 000 students; and Athabasca, established in 1970 to offer distance-learning opportunities. To provide for co-ordination among these institutions, the Alberta Universities Act has established a statutory body, the Universities Co-ordinating Council; consisting of representatives of the four universities, the Council has the authority to inquire into all matters requiring co-operative decisions or actions and to give advice to both the universities and government.

Government of institutions

Civil legislation regarding the establishment of new institutions, or changes in existing ones, is usually enacted by provincial legislatures, except for federal military colleges and a few institutions originally established by act of Parliament.

The two-tier, or bicameral, system of university government is in effect at all but three universities in Canada. Once an institution is legally chartered its corporate powers are vested in a governing body, generally known as the board of governors. The board of most universities usually comprises representatives of government, industry, university administration, faculty, undergraduate and graduate student bodies, and alumni. Its function is to oversee the university's financial operations and to maintain liaison with governments and the general public.

The responsibility for all academic matters is, as a rule, assigned to the senate. Most senates are composed mainly of representatives of faculty and academic administrators; student representatives are also included on the senates of most institutions. The president of the institution is