1. Introduction

English and French are the official languages of Canada. This was recognized by the Official Languages Act of 1969, and entrenched by the Constitution Act of 1982.

The three fundamental principles governing official languages policies are:

- members of the public have the right to communicate with and obtain services from the Department in the official language of their choice. All offices of the Department, whether in Canada or abroad, must provide services to the public in both official languages;
- Canadians of the two official language groups should have equal opportunities for employment and a career within the Department and should be able to work in the official language of their choice; and
- both official language groups should, within the merit principle, be equitably represented within the Department, i.e. representation of anglophones and francophones should correspond to their proportion in the general population or in the labour force.