Commissioners to make certain divisions.

Directions to commissioners.

Filling of vacancies.

Commissioners' reports.

Majority to govern.

Electoral districts constituted.

Publication of reports.

Quebec electoral districts. 2. Where, under the foregoing provisions, any county or city is to be divided into more than one electoral district, such division shall be made by a Board of Commissioners, consisting of at least three persons, being judges of the Supreme Court of Judicature for Ontario, who, for that purpose, shall **5** be appointed by letters patent under the Great Seal, and who shall divide each such county or city into the number of electoral districts by this Act assigned to it.

2. The letters patent appointing the commissioners shall direct them, in making the divisions, to consider the distribu-10 tion of population according to the latest census of Canada, the public convenience, and such divisions as appear to them best calculated to do substantial justice.

3. In case of the death, resignation, or refusal to act, of any one or more of such commissioners, a successor or successors 15 shall in like manner be appointed.

4. The commissioners shall complete such divisions within a time to be limited by the said letters patent, and shall report such divisions to the Secretary of State, making a separate report as to each electoral district so set apart by them, and 20 shall set forth in such report the boundaries of the electoral district to which such report refers and the municipalities comprised therein, and assign an appropriate designation to such electoral district.

5. Each report shall be signed by the commissioners or, in 25 case of disagreement, by a majority of them; and the report of the majority of the commissioners shall be the report of the commissioners.

6. Upon the receipt by the Secretary of State of the reports of the commissioners completing such divisions, the territories 30 by such reports described as constituting the electoral districts into which the said city and counties are so divided shall, subject to the provisions of section 6 of this Act, become and be electoral districts as if they had been set apart and established as such by this Act. 35

7. Each separate report shall be published by the Secretary of State in the *Canada Gazette* forthwith after its receipt by him.

3. In the Province of Quebec, the following changes shall be made in the electoral districts as constituted under chapter 40 6 of the Revised Statutes, chapter 11 of the statutes of 1892, and chapter 6 of the statutes of 1893 :--

(a.) The parish of Lavaltrie is transferred from the electoral district of L'Assomption to the electoral district of Berthier;

(b.) The Indian village and reserve of Caughnawaga are 45 transferred from the electoral district of Chateauguay to the electoral district of Laprairie and Napierreville;

(c.) The parish of Lacolle, together with the islands situated in the river Richelieu opposite thereto, is transferred from the electoral district of Missisquoi to the electoral district of St. 50 John's and Iberville;

(d.) The parishes of Notre Dame de Stanbridge and Notre Dame des Anges de Stanbridge are transferred from the electoral district of St. John's and Iberville to the electoral district of Missisquoi;

55