GOVERNMENT ORDERS

CIVILIAN WAR PENSIONS AND ALLOWANCES ACT

AMENDMENT TO INCREASE PAYMENTS

Hon. Allan J. MacEachen (for the Minister of Veterans Affairs) moved that Bill C-232, to amend the Civilian War Pensions and Allowances Act, be read the second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Veterans

Motion agreed to, bill read the second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Veterans Affairs.

WAR VETERANS ALLOWANCE ACT, 1952

AMENDMENT TO INCREASE TABLE AND CEILING OF ALLOWANCES

Hon. Allan J. MacEachen (for the Minister of Veterans Affairs) moved that Bill C-233, to amend the War Veterans Allowance Act, 1952, be read the second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Veterans Affairs.

Motion agreed to, bill read the second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Veterans Affairs.

PENSION ACT

AMENDMENT TO INCREASE PAYMENTS

Hon. Allan J. MacEachen (for the Minister of Veterans Affairs) moved that Bill C-234, to amend the Pension Act. be read the second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Veterans Affairs.

Motion agreed to, bill read the second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Veterans Affairs.

TEXTILE AND CLOTHING BOARD ACT

PROVISION FOR ESTABLISHMENT, INQUIRIES, REPORTS. ADJUSTMENT ASSISTANCE FOR WORKERS

The House resumed, from Monday, March 22, consideration of Bill C-215, to establish the Textile and Clothing Board and to make certain amendments to other acts in consequence thereof, as reported (with amendments) from the Standing Committee on Finance, Trade and Economic Affairs.

Mr. Speaker: Pursuant to special order made on Monday, March 22, the House will now revert to the deferred divisions in relation to the proposed amendments to Bill C-215. The motions will be called in the order in which they were considered by the House.

Division

The text of motions Nos. 1, 6, 7, 2, 4 and 5 appear at page iii appended to today's Order Paper. Call in the

The House will now proceed to the deferred division on motion No. 1, in the name of the hon, member for Dauphin (Mr. Ritchie).

The House divided on motion No. 1 (Mr. Ritchie) which was negatived on the following division:

YEAS

Messrs:

Alkenbrack Asselin Bell Bigg Code Danforth Diefenbaker Dinsdale Downey Fairweather Flemming Forrestall Grills Hales Hees Horner Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand) Korchinski Lambert (Edmonton West) La Salle Lundrigan MacDonald (Egmont) MacInnis (Cape Breton-East Richmond) MacLean

Macquarrie McCleave McCutcheon McIntosh McKinley McQuaid Monteith Moore Murta Nesbitt Nielsen Noble Nowlan Paproski Peddle Ricard Ritchie Rynard Schumacher Scott Simpson Southam Thomas (Moncton)

Stewart (Marquette) Valade Yewchuk-50.

NAYS

Messrs:

Allmand Danson Badanai Davis Barnett De Bané Basford Dionne Beaudoin Béchard Drury Beer Benjamin Benson Émard Blair Éthier Blouin Boulanger Forest Breau Forget Broadbent Fortin Brown Buchanan Burton Caccia Cafik Chappell Chrétien Clermont Cobbe Comtois Godin Corbin Goode Corriveau Goyer Côté (Richelieu)

Côté (Longueuil)

Crossman

Cullen

Cvr

Douglas (Assiniboia) Dupras Duquet Faulkner Francis Gauthier Gendron Gervais Gibson Gilbert Gillespie Givens Gleave Gray Greene Groos Guay (Lévis) Guilbault