## (b) Primary Area

It includes the primary center, the local dependent centers and the respective local transmission networks, and the transmission network which interconnects the primary center to the dependent local centers. The primary center has the highest hierarchy and also performs the function of the local center.

## (c) Interurban Section

It is made up of the transmission networks that interconnect the primary centers, either directly or through the secondary centers of superior hierarchy which are also included in the interurban segment of the network.

## 2.3.3. Hierarchical Organization of the Network

The hierarchical organization defined at present for the national network, considers the following commutation centers:

Primary Centers : Arica, Iquique, Antofagasta, Copiapó, La Serena, Ovalle,

Quillota, Valparaíso, Los Andes, San Felipe, Peñaflor, San

Antonio, Santiago, Rancagua, Curicó, Talca, Linares,

Chillán, Concepción, Los Angeles, Temuco, Valdivia,

Osorno, Puerto Montt, Coyhaique and Punta Arenas.

Secondary Centers : Antofagasta, Valparaíso, Santiago, Concepción and

Valdivia.

Third Level Centers : Santiago

International Centers : Santiago