Serving until December 31, 1957:	the members elected at the first elec-
	tion, the terms of office of five judges
Argentina China	should expire at the end of three
Dominican Republic	years, and the terms of five more at
Egypt	the end of six years. The judges
France	who were to serve the initial three
Netherlands	and six-year periods were chosen by
	lot. The terms of office began on the
Serving until December 31, 1958:	date of the first election, February 6,
Brazil	1946.
Canada	The present judges of the Court,
Greece	with the year their term of office
Indonesia	ends, are as follows:
United States	End of
Yugoslavia	Judge Term
a :	Green H. Hackworth, President,
Serving until December 31, 1959:	of the United States
Finland	Abdel Hamid Badawi Pasha,
Mexico	Vice-President, of Egypt 1958
Pakistan	John E. Read, of Canada 1958
Poland	Wellington Koo, of China 1958
U.S.S.R.	Bohdan Winiarski, of Poland 1958
United Kingdom	Milovan Zoricic, of Yugoslavia 1958
	Helge Klaestad, of Norway 1961
Trusteeship Council	Muhammed Zafrulla Khan,
Administering Trust Territories:	of Pakistan
	Feodor Ivanovich Kojevnikov,
Australia	of the U.S.S.R 1961
Belgium	E. C. Armand-Ugon, of Uruguay 1961
France	L. M. Moreno Quintana,
Italy	of Argentina 1964
New Zealand	José Gustavo Guerrero.
United Kingdom	of El Salvador
United States	Jules Basdevant, of France
Permanent Members of the Security	Roberto Cordova, of Mexico 1964
Council not Administering Trust	Hersch Lauterpacht,
Territories	of the United Kingdom 1964
China U.S.S.R.	
	Disarmament Commission <sup>1</sup>
Elective Members (3-year term):	Permanent
Serving until December 31, 1956:	Members <sup>2</sup>
Haiti India	Canada
Serving until December 31, 1958:	China
Guatemala Syria Burma	France
Serving until December 31, 1959:	Union of Soviet
Haiti India	Socialist Republics
	United Kingdom
International Court of Justice	United States
The Court consists of fifteen judges	Non-Permanent
elected by the General Assembly and the Security Council, proceeding	Members (2-year term)
	Serving until December 31, 1956:
independently. They serve nine years and are eligible for re-election.	Belgium
To provide for rotation, however, the	Iran
Statute of the Court states that of	Peru
Statute of the Court states that of	

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>This Commission was established on January 11, 1952 by the General Assembly to function under and report to the Security Council. See *Canada and the United Nations* 1951-52, Appendix 5, pp. 157-158.

<sup>2</sup>The sub-committee of the Disarmament Commission is composed of representatives of five countries: Canada, France, U.S.S.R., U.K. and U.S.A.