event of a union, the sections of country that would be affected: Prince Edward Island, Cobourg, Bowmanville, Peterboro', Toronto, Exeter, London, Cleveland, Wisconsin, Manitoba-10. By regulation no district is to comprise more circuits than eight.

**Probationers.** Forty per cent. of marks is necessary to pass the literary and theological examination. Every probationer in order to his being considered eligible for continuance in the ministry must be annually furnished with a certificate of approval from his fourth quarterly meeting according to the following form :

Did Bro. —— arrive in the circuit as soon after Conference as could have been reasonably expected ?

Does he continue to give evidence of genuine piety and devotedness to God?

Has he satisfactorily discharged his ministerial, pastoral, and other duties ?

Do you consider him possessed of the necessary abilities for the ministerial office?

Signed on behalf, and by order of the quarterly meeting by the circuit stewards.

Stationing of Ministers. The Stationing Committee is composed of the President and Secretary of Conference, editor, missionary, and financial secretaries, the chairmen and lay representatives of the districts. The district meeting prepares a draft of stations, and so far as may be practicable arranges them according to the requests and suggestions of the quarterly boards. The mutual arrangements entered into by the preachers and their quarterly meetings as to the re-appointment of the preacher to that station must not be disturbed by the Stationing Committee, unless evidently necessary for the general welfare. The maximum time on a circuit is four years, unless Conference exigencies demand otherwise.

Annual Conference. The Conference is composed of the President and Secretary of the preceding Conference, the chairmen and lay representatives of the districts, and as many itinerant preachers as were authorized by the district meeting. The Conference of this year was composed of eighty-eight persons—fiftytwo ministers and thirty-six laymen. Every fifth year from 1875 the number of ministers and laymen must be exactly equal, thus