In 1846 a new state of things was introduced, changing the limits of the Gore Militia into Regimental Divisions to be divided into Battalions composed of the Townships, as follows:

## WENTWORTH

First Battalion, City of Hamilton, Lieut.-Colonel Sir A. N. MacNab.

Second Battalion, Barton and Glanford, Lieut.-Colonel Robert Land.

Third Battalion, Saltfleet and Binbrook, Lieut.-Colonel William Gourlay.

Fourth Battalion, Onondaga, Tuscarora, Oneida and Seneca. Fifth Battalion, Ancaster, Lieut.-Colonel John Aikman. Sixth Battalion, Brantford, Lieut.-Colonel Wm Richardson.

## HALTON

First Battalion, Trafalgar, Lieut. Colonel Charles Biggar. Second Battalion, Nelson, Lieut. Colonel George Chisholm. Third Battalion, Flamboro East and West, Lieut. Colonel James Hamilton.

Fourth Battalion, Beverly, Lieut.-Colonel, A. T. Kirby. Fifth Battalion, Dumfries.
Sixth Battalion, Esquesing and Nassagaweya.

Only a portion of our duty is performed in this search for, and preservation of, these Militia lists. It is hoped that their collection will be an incentive to further biography—the very "woof and warp" of local history. These men were the best of our best, and we would be remiss were we not to endeavor to perpetuate their memory in this, their collective and voluntary service, remembering as we do, that they were those who stood forth:

"With hearts resolved, and hands prepared, The blessings we enjoy to guard!"