## [Translation]

Mr. Speaker: The next question is the following:

Hon. Ray Hnatyshyn (Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada) moved:

That Bill C-72, an Act respecting the status and use of the official languages of Canada, be concurred in as amended.

### [English]

Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

Mr. Speaker: All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Shall I dispense with the ringing of the bells?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

The House divided on the motion, which was agreed to on the following division:

### (Division No. 436)

#### YEAS

#### Members

Althouse Andre Beatty Benjamin Bernier Blackburn (Brant) Blaikie Blais Blais-Grenier Blouin Bosley Bouchard (Roberval) Boyer Brightwell Brisco Broadbent Browes Cadieux Caldwell Cardiff

Champagne (Saint-Hyacinthe-Bagot) Champagne (Champlain) Charest Clark (Brandon-Souris) Clifford Collins Comeau Cook Cooper Cossitt Crosbie (St. John's West) Darling de Cotret de Jong Dewar Dick Duplessis

Edwards (Thunder Bay-Nipigon) Epp (Provencher) Fennell Ferland Fontaine Foster Fretz Friesen Fulton Gagliano Gagnon Garneau Gauthier Gérin Girard Graham Gray (Bonaventure-Îles-dela-Madeleine)

# Official Languages Act

(Windsor West) Grisé Guilbault (Saint-Jacques) Guilbault (Drummond) Gurbin Hamelin Harris Hawkes Неар Hicks Hnatyshyn Holtmann Hovdebo Hudon Isabelle Jacques James Jewett Johnson (Bonavista-Trinity-Conception) Joneas Jourdenais Kaplan Kelleher Kempling King

Lewis Lopez MacDonald (Kingston and the Islands) MacDougall (Timiskaming) MacLellan Mailly Malépart Manly Marin Martin Masse Mayer McCurdy McDermid McDougall (St. Paul's) McLaughlin McLean Mitchell Mitges Moore Mulroney Murphy Nystrom Oberle Oostrom Orlikow Parry Penner Pennock Pépin

Reid Riis Robichaud Rodriguez Rossi St. Germain Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Scowen Shields Skelly Sparrow Spever Stevens Tardif (Richmond-Wolfe) Tardif (Charlesbourg) Tobin Tremblay (Québec-Est) Van De Walle Vézina Waddell Warner Weiner White Wilson (Etobicoke Centre)

Young-146

Prud'homme

NAYS

## Members

 Corbett
 McKenzie

 Domm
 Nowlan

 Kindy
 Stewart

 McCain
 Vankoughnet—8

• (1940)

Landry

Layton

Leblanc

Langdon

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion carried.

Pietz

Mr. Cochrane: Mr. Speaker, I draw attention to the fact that I was in the House but chose not to vote.

Mr. Speaker: When shall the Bill be read the third time? At the next sitting of the House?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Mr. Speaker: The Hon. Member for Okanagan—Similkameen (Mr. King) on a point of order.

Mr. King: Mr. Speaker, I am seeking unanimous consent to present the report of the legislative committee on Bill C-58.

Mr. Speaker: Is there unanimous consent?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.