November 6, 1986

Hardev Hawkes Hicks Hnatyshyn Hockin Horner Howie lardine Jelinek Jepson Johnson (Bonavista-Trinity-Conception) Joncas Jourdenais Kempling Kindy King Landry Lawrence Lewis MacKay Malone Martin Mayer Mazankowski McCain McCrossan McCuish

McDougall (St. Paul's) McInnes McKenzie McKinnon McKnight McMillan Nicholson (Niagara Falls) Nickerson Nowlan O'Neil Oostrom Pennock Pietz Plamondon Plourde Porter Price Ravis Redway Reid St-Julien Schellenberg (Nanaimo-Alberni) Schellenberger (Wetaskiwin) Shields Siddon

Sparrow Stewart Suluk Taylor Thacker Towers Tremblay (Québec-Est) Tremblay (Lotbinière) Tupper Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) Valcourt Van De Walle Vankoughnet Vézina Vincent Warner Weiner Wilson (Swift Current-Maple Creek) Wilson (Etobicoke Centre) Wise-123

[Translation]

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion lost.

* *

• (1220)

[English]

SHIPPING CONFERENCES EXEMPTION ACT, 1986

MEASURE TO ENACT

Hon. Don Mazankowski (for the Minister of Transport) moved for leave to introduce Bill C-21, an Act to exempt certain shipping conference practices from the provisions of the Competition Act, to repeal the Shipping Conferences Exemption Act, 1979 and to amend other Acts in consequence thereof.

Mr. Speaker: Shall the Hon. Minister have leave to introduce the Bill?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Motion agreed to, Bill read the first time and ordered to be printed.

*

AN ACT TO AMEND THE PATENT ACT AND TO PROVIDE FOR CERTAIN MATTERS IN RELATION THERETO

Hon. Harvie Andre (Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs) moved for leave to introduce a Bill to amend the Patent Act and to provide for certain matters in relation thereto.

Introduction of Bills

Mr. Speaker: Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

Mr. Speaker: All those in favour of the motion please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Call in the Members.

The House divided on the motion, which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 15)

YEAS

Members

Ferland

Andre Attewell Beatty Belsher Bertrand Binns Bissonnette Blais Blais-Grenier Blouin Bouchard Bourgault Bradley Brightwell Cadieux Caldwell Cardiff Champagne (Saint-Hyacinthe-Bagot) Charest Clark (Brandon-Souris) Clinch Cook Corbett Côté (Lac-Saint-Jean) Côté (Langelier) Crombie Darling Daubney Desjardins Desrosiers Duplessis Edwards Ellis Epp (Provencher) Fennell

Fontaine Forrestall Gérin Gormley Gottselig Gravel Grav (Bonaventure-Îles-dela-Madeleine) Greenaway Gurbin Gustafson Halliday Hawkes Hnatyshyn Hockin Horner Howie Jardine Jelinek Jepson Johnson (Bonavista-Trinity-Conception) Joncas Jourdenais Kempling King Landry La Salle Lawrence Lewis MacKay Malone Martin Mayer Mazankowski McCain McCrossan McCuish

McKinnon McMillan Nicholson (Niagara Falls) Nickerson O'Neil Oostrom Paproski Pennock Pietz Plamondon Plourde Porter Price Ravis Redway Reid Reimer Ricard Schellenberg (Nanaimo-Alberni) Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Siddon Sparrow Stewart Taylor Thacker Towers Tremblay (Québec-Est) Tremblay (Lotbinière) Tupper Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) Valcourt Van De Walle