accordingly decided to publish its dictionary in a series of fascicles, of which the first will appear shortly.

From the very beginning the Académie has never had more than 40 members. Traditionally it has given preference to writers, who are, however, drawn from a great variety of disciplines, such as literature (novels, poetry, drama), history, politics, law, and philosophy. Its tradition has also found a place for churchmen, soldiers and politicians. At the present time the majority of the members are writers, but they also include four scientists, a former head of state (Mr. Senghor), and five former cabinet ministers (Messrs Edgar Faure, Alain Peyrefitte, Jacques Soustelle, Maurice Schumann and Maurice Druon).

According to the statutes, every candidate for membership must be French, but one of the present members, Mr. Julien Green, has kept his American nationality. The current membership also includes persons who have acquired French citizenship by naturalization, namely: Mr. Henri Troyat, born in Russia, Mr. Eugène Ionesco, born in Rumania, Mr. Félicien Marceau, born in Belgium, and Mr. Léopold Senghor, born in Senegal. It is to be noted that the Académie opened its doors to a woman for the first time in 1980, when it elected Mrs. Marguerite Yourcenar.

From the time of its foundation the Académie has been under the protection of the Head of State.

Since 1795 the Académie française has been a constituent member of the Institut de France, the other constituent members being the Académie des inscriptions et des belles-lettres, the Académie des Sciences, the Académie des Sciences morales et politiques, and the Académie des Beaux-Arts. All these bodies are housed in the Palais Mazarin, which was built for the successor of Richelieu.