International Court of Justice

The Court consists of fifteen judges elected by the General Assembly and the Security Council, voting independently. They serve nine years and are eligible for reelection. To provide for rotation, however, the statutes of the court state that, of the members elected at the first election, the terms of office of five judges should expire at the end of three years, and the terms of five more at the end of six years. The judges who were to serve the initial three and six-year periods were chosen by lot. The terms of office began on the date of the first election, February 6, 1946. The present judges of the Court, with the year their term of office ends, are as follows:

Judge of noticeoblemos pennes aria bureds vicenses A	End of
ludgo	Term
Dr. Ricardo J. Alfaro (Panama)	1964
Abdel Homid Dodows (United Anal Den 11')	1967
	1964
Roberto Cordovo (Movico)	1970
Sir (verald hitzmannice (United Vinedam)10	1964
Phillip (lecoup (I lasted States of A	1964
V K Wellington Koo (Chino)	1970
Viadimir I Korotoky (HCCD)	1967
Gaetano Morelli (Italy)	1970
Gaetano Morelli (Italy)	1970
Lucio M. Moreno Quintana (Argentina)	1964
Sir Percy Spender (Australia)	1967
Jean Spiropoulos (Greece)	1967
Kotaro Tanaka (Japan)	1970
Bohdan Winiarski (Poland)	1967

Disarmament Commission

Membership: All members of United Nations

The Commission as established in 1952 by Assembly Resolution 502 (VI) consisted of one representative of each member of the Security Council, and Canada, when Canada was not a member of the Security Council. Originally set up "under the Security Council" (see "Canada and the United Nations 1951-52") it was directed, primarily, to prepare proposals to be embodied in a draft treaty (or treaties) for the regulation, limitation and balanced reduction of all armed forces and all armaments, for the elimination of all major weapons adaptable to mass destruction, and for effective international control of atomic energy to ensure the prohibition of atomic weapons and the use of atomic energy for peaceful purposes only.

Assembly Resolution 1150 (XII) of 19 November 1957 added 14 new members. The Commission as thus constituted did not meet during 1958 and the thirteenth session of the Assembly decided (Resolution 1252D (XIII) of 4 November 1958) that the Commission should, for 1959 and on an ad hoc basis, be composed of all

the members of the United Nations.

The Commission in its new form met on only one occasion in 1959: on 10 September it unanimously adopted a resolution which recognized that the ultimate responsibility for measures of general disarmament is vested in the United Nations by its Charter; welcomed the resumption of consultations announced in the Four-Power communiqué on 7 September on the establishment of a new 10-nation Disarmament Committee and the declared intention of the Committee to keep the Disarmament Commission informed of the progress of its deliberations; and recommended to the General Assembly that the Commission should continue in being in its existing form.

¹⁰ The General Assembly and the Security Council, voting independently on November 17, 1960, elected Sir Gerald Fitzmaurice (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) as a member of the International Court of Justice to fill the vacancy caused by the death of Sir Hersch Lauterpacht, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.